About

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

From September 2020 on bi’bak will embark on a cinema experiment at Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA explores cinema as a space for social discourse, a place for exchange and solidarity. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA brings together diverse social communities, links geographically distant and nearby places, the past, present and future, and decentres an eurocentric view through transnational, (post-) migrant and postcolonial perspectives. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is a transtopia, a place where “cross-border ties and connections converge, are reinterpreted and condense into everyday contexts” (Erol Yıldız). As part of the pioneering urban policy Initiative Haus der Statistik, the cinema experiment bridges the gap between everyday urban practices and film to create an alternative art form that connects different social perspectives.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds, Conrad Stiftung and the Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

bi'bakino

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Past event series can be found in the archive.

Series
to

SİNEMANINO

Children's cinema from SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Concept by Malve Lippmann and Dr. Martin Ganguly

more
to

Common Cold

un.thai.tled Film Festival 2021

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote and Rosalia Namsai Engchuan

more
to

Sounding Womanhood

Feminist Gestures in Film

Curated by Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

more

To the archive

Events

OV with English subs

A LONG JOURNEY TO MOSCOW AND A SHORT ONE TO BRASILIA

Lecture and film programme by Erik Göngrich and Florian Wüst 

On the occasion of the Super 8 workshop Kino, Kaffee, Kompostol by Dagie Brundert, this programme created by Erik Göngrich and Florian Wüst offers a historical insight into the models, connections and misinterpretations of the two construction phases of the Karl-Marx-Allee. How did it develop from the Stalinist confectionery style - "democratic in content and national in form" - to a modern, functional systematic construction with industrial concrete slabs? How do we deal with it today? The second part of the evening takes the urban situation around Haus der Statistik as a starting point to show the artistic possibilities of depicting the modern city. Selected examples of documentary and experimental film will be shown, including film clips by Cynthia Beatt, Matthias Müller and Herbert Vesely, among others. 

Funded by the Berliner Projektfonds Urbane Praxis within the framework of the project SİNEMA HERE N’ THERE

Erik Göngrich is an artist researcher, political architect, producer-curator, discursive draughtsman, public-spirited cook and performative publisher. With the projects MITKUNSTZENTRALE, which he initiated, and SATELLIT, he has been running a workshop/exhibition space since 2019, one that addresses material cycles and art in times of climate emergency.

Florian Wüst is a film curator, artist and publisher living in Berlin. His work deals with European post-war history and the social and ecological changes in the process of modernising the living world. Wüst is co-founder of the Berliner Hefte on the history and present of the city.

Book tickets

Über

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Ab September 2020 startet bi'bak ein Kino-Experiment im Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA untersucht Kino als sozialen Diskursraum, als Ort des Austauschs und der Solidarität. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA bringt diverse soziale Communities zusammen, verknüpft geographisch entfernte und nahe Orte, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und dezentriert einen eurozentristischen Blick durch transnationale, (post-)migrantische und postkoloniale Perspektiven. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA ist eine Transtopie, ein Ort, an dem “grenzüberschreitende Bindungen und Verbindungen zusammenlaufen, neu interpretiert werden und sich zu Alltagskontexten verdichten” (Erol Yıldız).  Im Rahmen der Pioniernutzung der stadtpolitischen Initiative Haus der Statistik schlägt das Kino-Experiment eine Brücke zwischen urbaner Alltagspraxis und Film als alternative, verschiedene soziale Perspektiven verbindende Kunstform.

Gefördert durch den Haupstadtkulturfonds, die Conrad Stiftung und das Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

 

bi'bakino

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Die Veranstaltungsreihen können im Archiv abgerufen werden.

Reihen
bis

SİNEMANINO

Das Kinderprogramm von SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Konzept von Malve Lippmann und Dr. Martin Ganguly

mehr
bis

Common Cold

un.thai.tled Film Festival 2021

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote und Rosalia Namsai Engchuan

mehr
bis

Sounding Womanhood

Feminist Gestures in Film

Kuratiert von Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

mehr
bis

Die fünfte Wand

Archivsichtungen mit Filmen von Navina Sundaram

Kuratiert von Merle Kröger und Mareike Bernien

mehr

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

OmeU

EINE LANGE FAHRT NACH MOSKAU UND EINE KURZE NACH BRASILIA

Vortrag und Filmprogramm von Erik Göngrich und Florian Wüst 

Anlässlich des Super 8-Workshops Kino, Kaffee, Kompostol von Dagie Brundert bietet dieses von Erik Göngrich und Florian Wüst gestaltete Programm einen historischen Einblick in die Vorbilder, Verbindungen und Fehlinterpretationen der zwei Bauabschnitte der Karl-Marx-Allee. Wie kam es vom stalinistischen Zuckerbäckerstil – „dem Inhalt nach demokratisch und der Form nach national“ – zu einem modernen funktionalen Systembau mit industriellen Betonplatten? Wie wird heute damit umgegangen? Der zweite Teil des Abends nimmt die städtebauliche Situation rund um das Haus der Statistik als einen Ausgangspunkt, um die künstlerischen Möglichkeiten der Abbildung der modernen Stadt anhand ausgesuchter Beispiele des Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilms aufzuzeigen. Mit Filmausschnitten u.a. von Cynthia Beatt, Matthias Müller und Herbert Vesely. 

Gefördert durch den Berliner Projektfonds Urbane Praxis im Rahmen des Projektes SİNEMA HERE N’ THERE 

Erik Göngrich ist forschender Künstler, politischer Architekt, produzierender Kurator, diskursiver Zeichner, gemeinwohlorientierter Koch und performativer Verleger. Mit der von ihm initiierten MITKUNSTZENTRALE und deren SATELLIT betreibt er seit 2019 eine Werkstatt/einen Ausstellungsraum, der Materialkreisläufe und Kunst in Zeiten des Klimanotstandes thematisiert.

Florian Wüst lebt als Filmkurator, Künstler und Verleger in Berlin. Seine Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der europäischen Nachkriegsgeschichte und den gesellschaftlichen wie ökologischen Veränderungen im Prozess der Modernisierung der Lebenswelt. Wüst ist Mitgründer der Berliner Hefte zu Geschichte und Gegenwart der Stadt.

Tickets buchen