About

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Series

Director Arafat Mazhar

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Arafat Mazhar

Director Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel Turkey 2019

57 min, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel

to

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Curated by Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel and Esra Özban

more

To the archive

Events

Director Arafat Mazhar

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Arafat Mazhar

City of Smile + Swipe

The screenings are followed by a talk with the director, Arafat Mazhar.

Shehr-e-Tabassum (City of Smile)

Director: Arafat Mazhar, Pakistan 2020, 9 min., OmeU

The year is 2071. Pakistan's Great Leader has transitioned the country into an era of peace, stability, and prosperity after a civil war which lasted three decades. There has been no war or violence in almost twenty years. The cost for this new-found peace: constant surveillance, and a world in which the only expression citizens are allowed is - a smile.

Swipe

Director: Arafat Mazhar, Pakistan, 2020, 5 min., OmeU

Follow a 12 year-old boy as he navigates an unnamed city in a Muslim country, addicted to crowdsourcing fatwas (Islamic legal opinions) of death.

Arafat Mazhar is a researcher and civil society activist from Pakistan. He is the founder of Shehri, a citizen's NGO, and the head of Puffball Studios, an animation and design studio. Arafat first made his foray into animation by creating short online videos promoting civic and legal literacy, which lead to the creation of his own studio. Puffbal debuted in February 2020 with Pakistan's first-ever animated cyberpunk short film.

Über

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Reihen

Regie Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel Die Türkei 2019

57 min, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel

bis

FREUNDSCHAFT AUF ZEIT

Vertragsarbeit und Internationalismus in der DDR

Kuratiert von Tobias Hering und Sun-ju Choi

mehr
bis

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Kuratiert von Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel und Esra Özban

mehr

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

Regie Arafat Mazhar

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Arafat Mazhar

Shehr-e-Tabassum + Swipe

Im Anschluss an das Screening Diskussion mit dem Regisseur Arafat Mazhar.

Shehr-e-Tabassum (City of Smile): Regie: Arafat Mazhar, Pakistan 2020, 9 min., OmeU

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2071. Nach einem dreißigjährigen Bürgerkrieg ist in Pakistan unter der Herrschaft des Großen Führers eine neue Epoche des Friedens, der Stabilität und des Wohlstand angebrochen. Seit zwanzig Jahren gab es weder Gewalt noch Krieg im Land. Doch der neue Status Quo verlangt einen Preis: flächendeckende Überwachung, sowie eine Welt, in der nur eine einzige Gefühlsäußerung erlaubt ist - das Lächeln.

Swipe

Regie: Arafat Mazhar, Pakistan, 2020, 5 min., OmeU

Folge einem zwölfjährigen Jungen, als er in einer ungenannten Stadt in einem muslimischen Land seiner neuen Besessenheit nachgeht: crowdsourcing für Todes-Fatwas (islamisch sanktionierte Rechtsmeinungen) zu organisieren.

Arafat Mazhar ist ein Menschenrechtsaktivist und Intellektueller aus Pakistan. Er ist Gründer von Shehri, einer Bürgerrechtsinitiative, und der Leiter von Puffball Studios, einem Animations- und Designstudio. Arafat begann, sich für Animation zu interessieren, als er im Rahmen seiner Arbeit mit Shehri kurze Online-Videos zur politischen Bildung erstellte. Dies führte schließlich zur Gründung seines eigenen Studios, welches im Februar 2020 mit Pakistans erstem animierten Cyberpunk-Kurzfilm an die Öffentlichkeit trat.