About

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Series
to

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Curated by Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel and Esra Özban

more
to

MORE THAN A MIDNIGHT RAINBOW

Chinese X Queer X Film

Curated by Popo Fan

more
MORE THAN A MIDNIGHT RAINBOW

Censorship regarding queer issues in China has become increasingly stricter. Cinema has never been a friendly space for queer subjects, yet now, new regulations are even banning LGBTI+ content online. Since the authorities arrested five feminist activists in 2015, the work of NGOs in China has become increasingly difficult. But do we give up? Of course not. Festivals such as Beijing Queer Film Festival and Shanghai Pride are proving the existence of a strong and enduring community.

Like the rainbow, we are more than colourful. We challenge and blur the borders of gender, nation and form. Through this programme, we aren’t necessarily finding answers but rather searching: aiming to build a platform for communication, reflection and discussion.

In the films, you will meet trans women in rural China, closet Taiwanese lesbians in the US, Canadian Chinese gay men in Germany, and expat lesbians in Beijing. These people are not afraid of the darkness. They are full of courage.

We are more than a rainbow at midnight. We illuminate the day.

我们在这里, WE ARE HERE!

Popo Fan, born in 1985, is a Chinese queer filmmaker, activist and writer. His early activism documentaries on LGBTI+ families started a national conversation in China. From 2016, he began focusing more on producing fictional and experimental films. He organized the Beijing Queer Film Festival for more than a decade and also founded the Queer University Video Training Camp in China. Currently, he lives in Berlin and is developing his feature debut. At Berlinale 2019, he was jury member of the Teddy Award.

To the events

To the archive

Events

Director Popo Fan

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Sun Mo

F*CK THE CENSORSHIP

一次网络视频管理 BLOCK AND CENSOR
Chen Awei, China 2018, Documentary 65 min.

The film is based on the lawsuit of the queer filmmaker Popo Fan against the SARFT (State Administration of Press, Publication, Radio, Film, Television of the PRC) after his film Mama Rainbow was deleted on Chinese video websites. Interviews with Popo’s lawyer, journalists, NGOs, activists and commentators reveal China’s systemic use of censorship through endless laws and regulations.

波动 THE HUTONG VIBE
Popo Fan, China 2017, Experimental fiction 18 min.

The Hutong Vibe is the first feminist queer pornography film made in Mainland China. Two women meet in a Hutong B&B in Beijing. One of them presents herself as unfriendly and bashful while the other is bold and flirty. What will happen when they become more and more involved?

Sun Mo is the Producer of Block and Censor. Born in China, now based in Berlin. Wandering in the art field, dabbling in photography and film production; struggling with his queer friends personally and publically, legally or illegally; surviving in a world that is so imbalanced, from the East to the West, to fuck or being fucked. So, just trying to be alive, as a human.

Director Wei TingTing

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Wei TingTing

FEMINIST IN TOWN: BI CHINA + WE ARE HERE

双 BI CHINA
Wei Tingting, China 2017, Documentary 48 min.

Bisexuals. Who are they? What lives do they lead? Living in China and being bisexual herself, Wei Tingting found those questions still very often being asked. As a result, she goes on a mission with her camera to uncover the hearts and minds of the bisexual community. She ends up encountering varied individuals with utterly different and contrasting views and experiences on sex, love, gender and identity.

我们在这里 WE ARE HERE
Jing Zhao, Shi Tou, China 2016, Documentary 60 min.

At the 1995 Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing, the first ever lesbian tent at an UN NGO Forum was created. In the tent, ideas were shared, connections were made, identities were assured… with a growing emergence of energy for change.

Wei Tingting is a Chinese LGBTI+ and feminist activist, writer and documentary filmmaker. She co-founded the National Bisexual Network in China, and was co-listed in ‘10 of the Most Inspiring Feminists of 2015’ by MS Magazine (US). She worked as a producer for the film We Are Here.

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Wayne Yung and Bin Chen

I’M NOT IN CHINA, BUT...

What is China? Let’s construct it, let’s deconstruct and then reconstruct.

老媽駕到 WHEN MOM VISITS

Chiung-Wen Chang, USA 2015, Fiction 19 min. OV with English subtitles

When Mom Visits is a lesbian family comedy-drama. Vic Lee has settled in America, with a job and girlfriend she loves. Her mother suddenly arrives from Taiwan unannounced, but Vic has not yet come out to her…

HOMØE

Bin Chen, Germany 2017, Documentary 57 min. OV with English subtitles

HOMØE tells stories about queer refugees from all over the world who come to Germany seeking their second home. Through Bin Chen’s lens, we see their pain and joy.

MY GERMAN BOYFRIEND

Wayne Yung, Germany 2004, Fiction 18 min. OV with English subtitles

A gay Chinese-Canadian looking for love is barraged with ethnic stereotypes when his dream of an ideal German boyfriend is crushed by reality.

ASIAN BOYFRIEND

Wayne Yung, Germany 2006, Fiction 1 min. OV with English subtitles

If you’re in the market for a new lover, why not get your very own Asian Boyfriend™!

Wayne Yung is a filmmaker, writer, curator. Born in a Chinese immigrant family in Canada, today he lives in Berlin. Besides the two videos presented, his works also include: Peter Fucking Wayne Fucking Peter (1994), Chopstick Bloody Chopstick (2001), 1000 Cumshots (2003), The Comfort Window (2010), and Schwanzfilm (2011).

Bin Chen, born in Shanghai, is a TV Journalist, video editor and filmmaker based in Berlin. His works focuses on culture, migration, queer and human rights. HOMØE is the graduate piece of his master degree on TV journalism.

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Ming Wong

TRANS*FORM

A new beginning for queerness. We are never static. We are transforming like fairies, shimmering between present, past and future.

尋找鱷魚 SEEING THROUGH THE EYES OF CROCODILES
Lien Fan Shen, Germany 2015, Animation 13 min.

Referencing video documentation of interviews with T (lesbian butches) in Taiwan, Seeing through the Eyes of Crocodiles is an animated short that explores “T”, their identity, pleasure and their views of female masculinity.

鼓楼西 THE DRUM TOWER
Popo Fan, China 2018, Experimental Fiction 18 min.

An introverted senior school student and a transgender vintage shop-owner: two lonely souls swimming in the ever-changing pool of the city. Can they break through wall of communication? Where are they heading to?

B先生.B小姐! GOODBYE MR B, HELLO MISS B!
Beatrice Wong, Hong Kong 2016, Documentary 15 min.

This short documentary is a self-produced visual-audio record of how the director changed from Mister Beavis to Miss Beatrice. Portraying a slice of transgender life, the film is about someone struggling to come to terms with the fact that things won’t be simple as ABC or 123.

LERNE DEUTSCH MIT PETRA VON KANT
Ming Wong, Germany 2007, Experimental 10 min.

A video art work inspired by Fassbinder’s classic piece The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant.

沉李 SUNKEN PLUM
Roberto F. Canuto / Xiaoxi Xu, China/Spain 2017, Fiction 20 min.

A transgender woman receives news of her mother’s death. As the only "son", she feels obligated to return to her birthplace, even though she’ll have to hide her true self from family and friends.

Ming Wong explores the gray space of current debates, such as the construction of gender, language and identity. Drawing inspiration from feature films and pop culture, Wong recontextualizes well-known quotes and tropes. He blends eastern and western mythological ideals, often reflecting his own experiences of having grown up in Singapore, studying in London and now living in Berlin.

Über

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Reihen

Regie Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel Die Türkei 2019

57 min, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel

bis

FREUNDSCHAFT AUF ZEIT

Vertragsarbeit und Internationalismus in der DDR

Kuratiert von Tobias Hering und Sun-ju Choi

mehr
bis

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Kuratiert von Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel und Esra Özban

mehr
bis

MORE THAN A MIDNIGHT RAINBOW

Chinese X Queer X Film

Kuratiert von Popo Fan

mehr
MORE THAN A MIDNIGHT RAINBOW

Im Bezug auf queere Themen wurde die Zensur in China in den letzten Jahren immer strenger. Das Kino war zwar noch nie ein queer-freundlicher Ort, doch jetzt verbieten neue Vorschriften sogar LGBTI+ Inhalte online. Seit der Festnahme von fünf feministischen Aktivist*innen 2015 ist die Arbeit von NGOs in China schwieriger geworden. Aber geben wir auf? Natürlich nicht. Veranstaltungen wie das Beijing Queer Film Festival und die Shanghai Pride beweisen die Existenz einer ausdauernden und starken Community.

Wie der Regenbogen sind wir mehr als bunt. Wir sind herausfordernd und wir verwischen die Grenzen zwischen Form, Geschlecht und Nation. Mit diesem Programm wollen wir nicht in erster Linie Antworten geben, sondern eine Plattform für Kommunikation, Reflexion und Diskussion anbieten.

In den ausgewählten Filmen treffen wir Transfrauen im ländlichen China, taiwanesische Lesben in den USA, schwule kanadische Chinesen in Deutschland und Lesben in Peking. Diese Leute haben keine Angst vor der Dunkelheit. Sie sind voller Mut.

Wir sind mehr als ein Regenbogen um Mitternacht. Wir beleuchten den Tag.

我们在这里, WIR SIND HIER!

Popo Fan, geboren 1985, ist ein chinesischer Filmemacher, Aktivist und Schriftsteller. Seine frühen Dokumentarfilme zu LGBTI + -Familien riefen in ganz China Diskussionen hervor. Seit 2016 widmet er sich vorwiegend der Produktion von fiktionalen und experimentellen Filmen. Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt organisiert er das Beijing Queer Film Festival und gründete das Queer University Video Training Camp in China. Derzeit lebt er in Berlin und arbeitet an seinem Spielfilmdebüt. Bei der Berlinale 2019 war er Jurymitglied des Berlinale Teddy Awards.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

Regie Popo Fan

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Sun Mo

F*CK THE CENSORSHIP

一次网络视频管理 BLOCK AND CENSOR
Chen Awei, China 2018, Dokumentarfilm 65 Min.

Der Film basiert auf dem Gerichtsverfahren des queeren Filmemacher Popo Fan gegen SARFT (State Administration of Press, Publication, Radio, Film, Television of the PRC) nachdem sein Film Mama Rainbow auf chinesischen Video-Webseiten gelöscht wurde. Interviews mit Popo’s Anwalt, Journalist*innen, NGOs, Aktivist*innen und Kommentierenden legen Chinas systematischen Gebrauch von Zensur offen.

波动 THE HUTONG VIBE
Popo Fan, China 2017, Experimental fiction 18 Min.

The Hutong Vibe ist der erste queerfeministische Porno, der auf dem chinesischen Festland produziert wurde. Zwei Frauen treffen sich in einem Hutong B&B in Peking. Eine von ihnen gibt sich unfreundlich, während die andere offensiv flirtet. Was wird passieren, wenn sie sich näher kommen?

Sun Mo ist der Produzent von Block and Censor. Geboren in China, lebt und arbeitet er jetzt in Berlin. Er wandelt auf dem Gebiet der Kunst, beschäftigt sich mit Fotografie und Filmproduktion und kämpft gemeinsam mit seinen queeren Freund*innen – persönlich und öffentlich, legal oder illegal.

Regie Wei TingTing

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Wei TingTing

FEMINIST IN TOWN: BI CHINA + WE ARE HERE

双 BI CHINA
Wei Tingting, China 2017, Dokumentarfilm 48 Min.

Wie sind eigentlich diese Bisexuellen? Was für ein Leben leben sie? Bisexuals. Die bisexuelle Filmemacherin Wei Tingping wird in China oft mit derartigen Fragen konfrontiert. Also geht sie mit ihrer Kamera auf eine Mission: Die Herzen und Gedanken der bisexuellen Community zu erkunden. Sie trifft verschiedene Individuen mit sehr divergierenden Ansichten und Erwartungen an Sex, Liebe, Gender und Identität.

我们在这里 WE ARE HERE
Jing Zhao, Shi Tou, China 2016, Dokumentarfilm 60 Min.

Bei der vierten Weltfrauenkonferenz in Peking wurde das erste lesbische Zelt im UN NGO-Forum aufgestellt. In dem Zelt wurden Ideen geteilt, Verbindungen geknüpft, Identitäten versichert... mit einer enormen Energie für Veränderung.

Wei Tingting is a Chinese LGBTI+ and feminist activist, writer and documentary filmmaker. She co-founded the National Bisexual Network in China, and was co-listed in ‘10 of the Most Inspiring Feminists of 2015’ by MS Magazine (US). She worked as a producer for the film We Are Here.

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Wayne Yung und Bin Chen

I’M NOT IN CHINA, BUT...

Was ist China? Lasst uns konstruieren, dekonstruieren und rekonstuieren.

老媽駕到 WHEN MOM VISITS

Chiung-Wen Chang, USA 2015, Fiction 19 Min. OmeU

When Mom Visits (Besuch von Mama) ist ein lesbisches Comedy-Drama. Vic Lee lebt in Amerika, mit ihrer Freundin, die sie liebt. Als ihre Mutter plötzlich unangekündigt aus Taiwan zu Besuch kommt, gerät Vic in Bedrängnis, weil sie sich noch nicht geoutet hat...

HOMØE

Bin Chen, Deutschland 2017, Dokumentarfilm 57 Min. OmeU

HOMØE erzählt von queeren Geflüchteten aus der ganzen Welt, die in Deutschland eine zweite Heimat finden wollen. Die Kamera von Bin Chen dokumentiert ihr Leid und ihre Freude.

MY GERMAN BOYFRIEND

Wayne Yung, Deutschland 2004, Fiction 18 Min. OmeU

Ein schwuler chinesisch-kanadischer Mann auf der Suche nach Liebe wird mit ethnischen Stereotypen konfrontiert, als seine Traumvorstellung von einem deutschen Freund durch die Realität ins Wanken gerät.

ASIAN BOYFRIEND

Wayne Yung, Deutschland 2006, Fiction 1 Min. OmeU

Wenn du auf der Suche nach einem neuen Lover bist, probier's doch mit einem Asian Boyfriend™!

Wayne Yung ist Filmemacher, Autor und Kurator. Geboren in einer chinesischen Einwandererfamilie in Kanada, lebt er heute in Berlin. Neben den beiden gezeigten Videos gehören zu seinen Arbeiten auch: Peter Fucking Wayne Fucking Peter (1994), Chopstick Bloody Chopstick (2001), 1000 Cumshots (2003), The Comfort Window (2010), und Schwanzfilm (2011).

Bin Chen, geboren in Shanghai, ist TV-Journalist, Video-Cutter und Filmemacher in Berlin. Seine Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf Kultur, Migration, Queer und Menschenrechte. HOMØE ist das Abschlussstück seines Masterstudiums im Bereich Fernsehjournalismus.

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Ming Wong

TRANS*FORM

Ein Neuanfang für Queerness. Wir sind niemals statisch. Wir sind wandelbar wie Feen, flimmernd zwischen Gegenwart, Vergangenheit und Zukunft.

尋找鱷魚 SEEING THROUGH THE EYES OF CROCODILES
Lien Fan Shen, Germany 2015, Animation 13 Min.

Der animierte Kurzfilm Seeing through the Eyes of Crocodiles basiert auf Interviews mit „T" (lesbischen „Butches") in Taiwan. Er beschäftigt sich mit „T“, ihrer Identität, ihrem Vergnügen und ihren Ansichten zur weiblichen Männlichkeit befasst.

鼓楼西 THE DRUM TOWER
Popo Fan, China 2018, Experimental Fiction 18 Min.

Ein introvertierter Student und eine Transgender-Vintage-Ladenbesitzerin: Zwei einsame Seelen, die im sich ständig verändernden Pool der Stadt schwimmen. Können sie die Kommunikationsmauer durchbrechen? Wohin führt ihr Weg?

B先生.B小姐! GOODBYE MR B, HELLO MISS B!
Beatrice Wong, Hong Kong 2016, Documentarfilm 15 Min.

Dieser Kurzfilm ist eine selbstproduzierte audiovisuelle Dokumentation über die Verwandelung des Regisseurs von Mister Beavis zu Miss Beatrice. Mit der Darstellung einer Transgender-Realität zeigt der Film auch die Kämpfe einer Person, deren Leben nicht nach Schema ABC oder 123 verläuft.

LERNE DEUTSCH MIT PETRA VON KANT
Ming Wong, Germany 2007, Experimental 10 Min.

Eine videokünstlerische Arbeit inspiriert durch Fassbinder’s Klassiker Die bitteren Tränen der Petra von Kant.

沉李 SUNKEN PLUM
Roberto F. Canuto / Xiaoxi Xu, China/Spain 2017, Spielfilm 20 Min.

Eine Transfrau empfäng die Nachricht des Todes ihrer Mutter. Als einziger „Sohn" fühlt sie sich verpflichtet, an ihren Geburtsort zurückzukehren, auch wenn sie so ihr wahres Selbst vor Familie und Freundin verstecken muss.

Ming Wong erkundet die Grauzonen aktueller Debatten wie etwa die Konstruktion von Geschlecht, Sprache und Identität. Wong lässt sich von Spielfilmen und Popkultur inspirieren und setzt bekannte Zitate und Tropen in einen neuen Kontext. Er verbindet östliche und westliche mythologische Ideale und reflektiert dabei oft seine eigene Erfahrunge, in Singapur aufgewachsen zu sein, in London zu studieren und jetzt in Berlin zu leben.