About

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

From September 2020 on bi’bak will embark on a cinema experiment at Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA explores cinema as a space for social discourse, a place for exchange and solidarity. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA brings together diverse social communities, links geographically distant and nearby places, the past, present and future, and decentres an eurocentric view through transnational, (post-) migrant and postcolonial perspectives. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is a transtopia, a place where “cross-border ties and connections converge, are reinterpreted and condense into everyday contexts” (Erol Yıldız). As part of the pioneering urban policy Initiative Haus der Statistik, the cinema experiment bridges the gap between everyday urban practices and film to create an alternative art form that connects different social perspectives.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds, Conrad Stiftung and the Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

bi'bakino

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Past event series can be found in the archive.

Series
to

Curated by Eirini Fountedaki, Cornelia Lund & Holger Lund (fluctuating images), Philip Rizk and Shohreh Shakoory

more
to

Critical Conditions

Fields of action in the environmental crisis

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan and Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

more
to

SİNEMANINO

Children's cinema from SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Concept by Dr. Martin Ganguly

more
to

Stories, continued

Films with absent protagonists, after the GDR, after 1990

Curated by Anna Zett and Philipp Goll

more
to

PRACTISING REVOLUTION

Film programme and discussions with a focus on Belarus

Curated by Marina Naprushkina and Agnieszka Kilian

more
PRACTISING REVOLUTION

in cooperation with RAZAM e.V.

A year ago, people in Belarus took to the streets to protest the rigged election. These protests grew into one of the largest democracy movements in recent European history. Philosopher Olga Shparaga describes this as a post-national movement and speaks of the “female face of the revolution.” What forms can contentious politics against authoritarian state structures take on today? And what processes are necessary to maintain the protest over a longer period of time? How can we grasp these processes and reinvent new forms of resistance? What role does the unifying politics of care play and how do solidarity communities come into being?

The video works of the Belarusian artists shed light on different perspectives on the events over the course of the protest movement and the situations in which the artists find themselves: from a critical examination of state propaganda in Belarus, to a juxtaposition of “language and aesthetics”, to intimate gestures and private recordings. 

During the panel discussions, we would like to draw inspiration from philosopher Olga Shparaga and her book Belarus: The Female Face of the Revolution and talk about new forms and possibilities of solidarity-based communities.

The project takes place within the framework of the "institutions extended" program (2019-2022). The program "institutions extended" is financed by the "Netzwerkfonds - Zukunftsinitiative Stadtteil II (ZI II)", program "Sozialer Zusammenhalt".

Funded by the Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa

Agnieszka Kilian is a curator, author and researcher with a background in law. She initiates and curates projects aimed at the increasing role of art in addressing current challenges. Projects she curated and co-curated: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams&Dramas. Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Marina Naprushkina is an artist, activist and writer. In 2013 Naprushkina founded the initiative "Neue Nachbarschaft / Moabit". Naprushkina participated in biennials, including Kyiv International - Kyiv Biennale (2017), the 7th Berlin Biennale (2011) and 11th International Istanbul Biennale (2009). She teaches at Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin.

To the events

To the archive

Events

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Agnieszka Kilian and Alexey Bratochkin

Practicing Revolution: Short Film Programme

The F-Word
Olia Sosnovskaya / a.z.h., Belarus 2021, 12 min.
The video is part of the “Armed and Dangerous” project platform: www.ozbroeni.in.ua 

Scratches
Lesia Pcholka / Uladzimir Hramovich, Belarus 2021, 7 min.

Pose. Position. Ways
Ala Savashevich, Poland 2019, 5 min.

Giving away a frame for free
Ala Savashevich, Poland 2020, 2 min.

Palipaduazennije
Aleksander Komarov, Netherlands 2012, 20 min.

The video works of the short film programme shed light on different perspectives on the events of the protest movement and the situations in which artists find themselves:  from a critical examination of state propaganda in Belarus, a juxtaposition of language and aesthetics, to intimate gestures and private recordings.

Please note: Free admission. Limited seating. The 3G (vaccinated, recovered, tested) rule applies.

Agnieszka Kilian is a curator, author and researcher with a background in law. She initiates and curates projects aimed at the increasing role of art in addressing current challenges. Projects she curated and co-curated: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams&Dramas. Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Alexey Bratochkin is a Belarusian historian and independent researcher. He deals with issues of national identity and cultures of remembrance in Belarus as well as in the post-Soviet region. He is co-author of scholarly anthologies such as After Soviet Marxism: History, Philosophy, Sociology, and Psychoanalysis in National Contexts (Belarus, Ukraine). Since April 2021 he has been a guest lecturer at the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder).

RAZAM e.V.

Director Ala Savashevich Poland 2020

38 Min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Valentina Kiselyova, Anna Chistoserdova and Anna Limantava

Voices

In the summer of 2020, Ala Savashevich asked artists and activists from Belarus to write her a letter. This gave rise to a story that is as well private and collective: a both quiet and loud resistance. The letters were then read aloud by Polish artists and activists. One might ask: How can solidarity be established? What do we achieve through art? These questions are the starting point for a conversation with Ana Christoserdova and Valentina Kisleyova.

The event will take place at Razam e.V. (“joint”), a Belarussian community and association which emerged from the transnational solidarity movement of the summer of 2020.

Please note: Free admission. Limited seating. The 3G (vaccinated, recovered, tested) rule applies.

Valentina Kiselyova was born in Uzbekistan in 1966.  Since 1979 she has lived and worked in Minsk, Belarus. She graduated in “Theory and Practice of Modern Art” at European Humanities in University in Vilnius (Lithuania). Together with Ana Chistoserdova, she founded galleries of modern art Podzemka and Gallery Ў. Currently resident of the Air Berlin Alexanderplatz program. 

Anna Chistoserdova (born 1982 in Minsk, Belarus) she works as an art manager and curator of international art projects and educational programs. The co-founder of galleries of modern art “Podzemka” and Gallery Ў (together with Valentina Kiselyova). Currently resident of the Air Berlin Alexanderplatz program.

Anna Limantava (b.1977 in  Novolukoml, Belarus) she is a photographer, medical interpreter and an activist. Anna has taken part in numerous exhibitions. Her photographic portfolio ranges from concert photography to portraits to advertising photography. She also organises and curates art and cultural events.

Director Kristina Savutsina Belarus/Germany 2021

57 Min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Agnieszka Kilian, Kristina Savutsina and Georg Kussmann

Khan´s Flesh

The film Khan’s Flesh shows the choreography of everyday life in a small town in Belarus. 

As documentary film critic Emmanuel Chicon puts it: “the camera captures a series of gestures, micro non-events and simultaneous rituals, like so many daily choreographies to which the inhabitants of this Belarusian village, from every generation, devote or submit themselves. […] Khan‘s Flesh reveals existences that seem stuck in an unending present.” Khan’s Flesh premiered at Visions du Réel Festival in Nyon.

Please note: Free admission. Limited seating. The 3G (vaccinated, recovered, tested) rule applies.

Agnieszka Kilian is a curator, author and researcher with a background in law. She initiates and curates projects aimed at the increasing role of art in addressing current challenges. Projects she curated and co-curated: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams&Dramas. Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Kristina Savutsina was born in 1989 in Riga, Latvia into a Belarusian family. From 1993 to 2014, she lived in Belarus. In 2011, she graduated with a diploma in cultural studies in Minsk. Since 2015, she has been studying film and fine arts at the University of Fine Arts, Hamburg. In her work, Kristina deals with regulatory politics and its concrete manifestations in Belarus. She lives and works in Hamburg.

Georg Kussmann was born and grew up in Halle/Saale, East Germany in 1989. He studied photography and film at the University of Fine Arts, Hamburg. Currently, he lives in Berlin and works from there as an artist, filmmaker and cinematographer.

Über

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Ab September 2020 startet bi'bak ein Kino-Experiment im Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA untersucht Kino als sozialen Diskursraum, als Ort des Austauschs und der Solidarität. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA bringt diverse soziale Communities zusammen, verknüpft geographisch entfernte und nahe Orte, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und dezentriert einen eurozentristischen Blick durch transnationale, (post-)migrantische und postkoloniale Perspektiven. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA ist eine Transtopie, ein Ort, an dem “grenzüberschreitende Bindungen und Verbindungen zusammenlaufen, neu interpretiert werden und sich zu Alltagskontexten verdichten” (Erol Yıldız).  Im Rahmen der Pioniernutzung der stadtpolitischen Initiative Haus der Statistik schlägt das Kino-Experiment eine Brücke zwischen urbaner Alltagspraxis und Film als alternative, verschiedene soziale Perspektiven verbindende Kunstform.

Gefördert durch den Haupstadtkulturfonds, die Conrad Stiftung und das Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

 

bi'bakino

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Die Veranstaltungsreihen können im Archiv abgerufen werden.

Reihen
bis

Kuratiert von Eirini Fountedaki, Cornelia Lund & Holger Lund (fluctuating images), Philip Rizk und Shohreh Shakoory

mehr
bis

Critical Conditions

Handlungsfelder in der Umweltkrise

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan und Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

mehr
bis

SİNEMANINO

Das Kinderprogramm von SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Konzept von Dr. Martin Ganguly

mehr
bis

Weitererzählen

Filme mit abwesenden Protagonist:innen nach der DDR, nach 1990

Kuratiert von Anna Zett und Philipp Goll

mehr
bis

REVOLUTION PRAKTIZIEREN

Filmprogramm und Diskussionen mit dem Schwerpunkt Belarus

Kuratiert von Marina Naprushkina und Agnieszka Kilian

mehr
REVOLUTION PRAKTIZIEREN

In Kooperation mit RAZAM e.V.

Vor einem Jahr gingen die Menschen in Belarus auf die Straße, um gegen die gefälschten Wahlen zu protestieren. Diese Proteste wuchsen zu einer der größten Demokratie-Bewegungen in der neueren Geschichte Europas. Die Philosophin Olga Shparaga beschreibt diese Bewegung als eine postnationale Bewegung und spricht vom “weiblichen Gesicht dieser Revolution”. Welche Formen kann heute der Widerstand gegen autoritäre staatliche Strukturen annehmen und welche Prozesse sind notwendig um ihn über längere Zeit aufrechtzuerhalten? Wie kann man diese Formen des Widerstands erfassen und neu erfinden? Welche Rolle spielt die verbindende Care-Politik und wie entstehen solidarische Gemeinschaften?

Die Videoarbeiten der aus Belarus stammenden Künstler*innen beleuchten verschiedene Perspektiven auf die Ereignisse im Laufe der Protestbewegung und die Situationen in welchen die Künstler*innen sich wiederfinden: Von kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der staatlichen Propaganda in Belarus, Gegenüberstellung von “Sprache und Ästhetik” bis zu intimen Gesten und privaten Aufnahmen. 

In der Diskussionsrunde wollen wir uns von der Philosophin Olga Shparaga und ihrem Buch Die Revolution hat ein weibliches Gesicht inspirieren lassen und sprechen über neue Formen und Möglichkeiten solidarischer Gemeinschaften.

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen des Programms „institutions extended“ (2019-2022) statt. Das Programm „institutions extended“ wird finanziert über den „Netzwerkfonds – Zukunftsinitiative Stadtteil II (ZI II)”, Programm “Sozialer Zusammenhalt“.

Gefördert durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa

Agnieszka Kilian ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Forscherin mit juristischem Hintergrund.  Sie initiiert und kuratiert Projekte, die darauf abzielen, die Rolle der Kunst bei der Bewältigung aktueller Herausforderungen zu stärken. Ihre Projekte haben oft kollaborative Strukturen, die auf der Gestaltung neuer Wissensformen basieren. Kuratierte Projekte: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams &Dramas.Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Marina Naprushkina ist Künstlerin, Aktivistin und Autorin. 2013 gründete Naprushkina die Initiative “Neue Nachbarschaft/Moabit”. Naprushkina nahm an zahlreichen Biennalen teil, u.a. Kyiv International – Kyiv Biennale (2017), the 7th Berlin Biennale (2011) and 11th International Istanbul Biennale (2009). Sie unterrichtet an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Agnieszka Kilian und Alexey Bratochkin

Revolution praktizieren: Kurzfilmprogramm

Die Videoarbeiten des Kurzfilmprogramms beleuchten verschiedene Perspektiven auf die Ereignisse im Laufe der Protestbewegung und die Situationen in welchen die Künstler*innen sich wiederfinden: Von kritischer Auseinandersetzung mit staatlicher Propaganda in Belarus, der Gegenüberstellung von Sprache und Ästhetik bis zu intimen Gesten und privaten Aufnahmen.

The F-Word
Olia Sosnovskaya / a.z.h., Belarus 2021, 12 Min.
Der Film ist Teil der Produktionsplattform “Armed and Dangerous”: www.ozbroeni.in.ua

Scratches
Lesia Pcholka / Uladzimir Hramovich, Belarus 2021, 7 Min.

Pose. Position. Ways
Ala Savashevich, Polen 2019, 5 Min.

Oddam ramkę na zdjęcia / Giving away a frame for free
Ala Savashevich, Polen 2020, 2 Min.

Palipaduazennije / Language Lessons
Aleksander Komarov, Niederlande 2012, 20 Min.

Bitte beachten: Freier Eintritt. Begrenzte Sitzplätze. Es gilt die 3G- (geimpft, genesen, getestet) Regel.

Agnieszka Kilian ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Forscherin mit juristischem Hintergrund.  Sie initiiert und kuratiert Projekte, die darauf abzielen, die Rolle der Kunst bei der Bewältigung aktueller Herausforderungen zu stärken. Ihre Projekte haben oft kollaborative Strukturen, die auf der Gestaltung neuer Wissensformen basieren. Kuratierte Projekte: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams &Dramas.Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Alexey Bratochkin ist ein belarussischer Historiker und unabhängiger Forscher. Er beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der nationalen Identität und Erinnerungskulturen in Belarus sowie im postsowjetischen Raum. Er ist Mitautor von wissenschaftlichen Sammelbänden wie beispielsweise After Soviet Marxism: History, Philosophy, Sociology, and Psychoanalysis in National Contexts(Belarus, Ukraine). Seit April 2021 ist er Gastdozent an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder).

RAZAM e.V.

Regie Ala Savashevich Polen 2020

38 Min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Valentina Kiselyova, Anna Chistoserdova und Anna Limantava

Voices

Im Sommer 2020 bat Ala Savashevich Kulturschaffende und Aktivistinnen aus Belarus, ihr einen Brief zu schreiben. Diese Briefe wurden von polnischen Künstlerinnen und Aktivistinnen öffentlich vorgelesen. Daraus entstand eine gleichermaßen private wie kollektive Geschichte des leisen und lauten Widerstandes in Belarus. Wie kann Solidarität hergestellt werden und was kann die Kunst bewirken? Diese Fragen sind der Ausgangspunkt für das Gespräch mit Anna Christoserova und Valentina Kiselyova.

Die Veranstaltung findet im Raum der belarussischen Gemeinschaft Razam („gemeinsam“) statt. Razam e.V. ist aus der länderübergreifenden Solidaritätsbewegung des Sommers 2020 hervorgegangen.

Bitte beachten: Freier Eintritt. Begrenzte Sitzplätze. Es gilt die 3G- (geimpft, genesen, getestet) Regel.

Valentina Kiselyova (geboren 1966 in Uzbekistan), Kuratorin, lebt und arbeitet in Minsk, Belarus. Valentina Kiselyova gründete 2004 die Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Podzemka und 2009 die Galerie Ў in Minsk. Sie absolvierte “Theory and Practice of Modern Art” in European Humanities an der Universität in Vilnius (Litauen). Zurzeit ist Valentina Kiselyova Residentin des Programms Air Berlin Alexanderplatz.

Anna Chistoserdova (geboren 1982 in Minsk, Belarus) ist Kunstmanagerin und Kuratorin. Sie ist Mitgründerin der Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Podzemka und der Galerie Ў in Minsk. Zurzeit ist Anna ChistoserdovaResidentin des Programms Air Berlin Alexanderplatz. 

Anna Limantava (1977) geboren in Novolukoml, Belarus. Fotografin, medizinische Dolmetscherin und Aktivistin. Sie hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teilgenommen. Ihr fotografisches Portfolio reicht von Konzertfotografie über Porträts bis hin zur Werbefotografie. Sie organisiert und kuratiert Kunst- und Kulturveranstaltungen.

Regie Kristina Savutsina Belarus/Deutschland 2021

57 Min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Agnieszka Kilian, Kristina Savutsina und Georg Kussmann

Khan´s Flesh

Der Film Khan’s Flesh zeigt die Choreographie des Alltags in einem kleinen Ort in Belarus. Der Dokumentarfilm-Kritiker Emmanuel Chicon schreibt: „die Kamera erfasst eine Abfolge von Gesten, winzigen Nicht-Ereignissen und Ritualen, denen sich die Einwohner*innen aller Generationen dieser belarussischen Ortschaft unterwerfen. Khan’s Flesh zeigt Existenzen, die in einer unendlichen Gegenwart stillzustehen scheinen.“ Khan’s Flesh feierte Premiere am Visions du Réel Festival in Nyon.

Bitte beachten: Freier Eintritt. Begrenzte Sitzplätze. Es gilt die 3G- (geimpft, genesen, getestet) Regel.

Agnieszka Kilian ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Forscherin mit juristischem Hintergrund.  Sie initiiert und kuratiert Projekte, die darauf abzielen, die Rolle der Kunst bei der Bewältigung aktueller Herausforderungen zu stärken. Ihre Projekte haben oft kollaborative Strukturen, die auf der Gestaltung neuer Wissensformen basieren. Kuratierte Projekte: „Controlled Image“ (Mamuta Art Center Jerusalem 2010), “Dreams &Dramas.Law as Literature” (Ngbk Berlin 2017), “We,the People” (Central Slovakian Gallery 2018).

Kristina Savutsina wurde 1989 in Riga, in eine belarussische Familie geboren. Von 1993 bis 2014 lebte sie in Belarus. 2011 schloss sie in Minsk ihr Studium der Kulturwissenschaften ab. Seit 2015 studiert sie Film und Freie Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Hamburg. Savutsina beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten mit der gesellschaftlichen Ordnung und deren konkreten Ausprägungen in Belarus. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg.

Georg Kussmann ist 1989 in Halle (Saale) geboren und dort aufgewachsen. Er studierte Fotografie und Film an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Zur Zeit lebt er in Berlin und arbeitet als Künstler, Filmemacher und Kameramann.