bi’bak (Turkish: have a look) is a project space based in Berlin, with a focus on transnational narratives, migration, global mobility and their aesthetic dimensions. bi’bak’s programme examines diverse disciplines in art, academics, and community development, including film screenings, exhibitions, workshops as well as music events and culinary excursions. 

bi'bak is a non-profit organization founded in 2014 by the artists and curators Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu. The curated film programme, bi'bakino, as well as the audio programme bi'bakaudio aims to show transnational, postcolonial and postmigrant perspectives. Experts invited from the fields of art, film and academics will enable a more differentiated, non-eurocentric view of society and cultural history. bi'baxchange offers a platform for cultural actors and projects, initiating cross-border collaborations. bi'bakwerk works with innovative concepts for art education, which aim for an equal participation and the exchange of ideas, knowledge and creativity. bi'bak's research-based exhibitions focus on widely neglected narratives and perspectives that are crucial for a comprehensive understanding of socio-political and socio-economic contexts worldwide. bi'bak was awarded by the Berlin Senate for Culture and Europe for its project space in 2017 and 2020.

From September 2020 on, bi'bak will start a cinema-experiment at Haus der Statistik at Berlin-Alexanderplatz which examines cinema as a space for social discourse, as a place for exchange and solidarity.


Artistic Directors
Malve Lippmann
Can Sungu

Social Media, Video Production
Duygu Atçeken

Project Coordination
Kaspar Aebi

Press Relations
Marie Kloos

Project Assistants
Charlotte Kendrick
Anna Krauss
Fatima Zaidi  

Duygu Atçeken
Sarah Kachiri
Kris Woods

Translation, Proofreading
Esra Akkaya
Megan Black

Art Educators
Tuna Arkun
Herkes İçin Mimarlık - Yelta Köm, Merve Gül Özokçu
Lisa Lemke
Heather Purcell
Svenja Schulte, Dennis Vetter
Trickmisch - Julia Kapelle

Arda Funda
Marvin Girbig
Felix Kayser

Graphic Design
Jan Grygoriew

Çağdaş Erdoğan

Former Team Members and Fellows

Emily Arauz
Zeynep Dişbudak
Hanna Döring
Eleftheria Gavrilidou
Arjuna Keshvani-Ham
Mazhar Iqbal
Bade Kaya
Monika Łagowska
Emmanouil Levedianos
Özge Meral
Selim Özadar
Gina Pavlopoulou
Lukas Renner
Theresa Sigmund
Maike Suhr
Angelos Tsaousis
Fatao Yaya


Ömer Alkın
Enoka Ayemba
Hamze Bytyçi
Özge Calafato
Sun-Ju Choi
Hanna Döring
Galit Eilat
Rosalia Namsai Engchuan
Popo Fan
Yuriy Gurzhy
Tobias Hering
Amer Katbeh
Erden Kosova
Malve Lippmann
Murat Meriç
Esra Özban
Branka Pavlovič
Eckehard Pistrick
Amal Ramsis
Necati Sönmez
Can Sungu
Sarnt Utamachote
Florian Wüst