Über

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Ab September 2020 startet bi'bak ein Kino-Experiment im Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA untersucht Kino als sozialen Diskursraum, als Ort des Austauschs und der Solidarität. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA bringt diverse soziale Communities zusammen, verknüpft geographisch entfernte und nahe Orte, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und dezentriert einen eurozentristischen Blick durch transnationale, (post-)migrantische und postkoloniale Perspektiven. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA ist eine Transtopie, ein Ort, an dem “grenzüberschreitende Bindungen und Verbindungen zusammenlaufen, neu interpretiert werden und sich zu Alltagskontexten verdichten” (Erol Yıldız).  Im Rahmen der Pioniernutzung der stadtpolitischen Initiative Haus der Statistik schlägt das Kino-Experiment eine Brücke zwischen urbaner Alltagspraxis und Film als alternative, verschiedene soziale Perspektiven verbindende Kunstform.

Gefördert durch den Haupstadtkulturfonds, die Conrad Stiftung und das Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

 

bi'bakino

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Die Veranstaltungsreihen können im Archiv abgerufen werden.

Reihen
bis

Kuratiert von Popo Fan, Tobias Hering, Malve Lippmann, Branka Pavlovic, Can Sungu, Sarnt Utamachote und Florian Wüst

mehr
bis

Critical Conditions

Handlungsfelder in der Umweltkrise

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan und Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

mehr
bis

Kuratiert von Necati Sönmez

mehr
Decolonizing the Screen

Wie Louis Malle bei Dreharbeiten in Indien bemerkte, „ein Westler mit einer Kamera ist doppelt ein Westler“. Das Kino startete seine lange Reise in einem kolonialen Kontext: Die Gebrüder Lumière besuchten Länder des Globalen Süden um die „Anderen“ zu filmen und entsprechend waren die frühen ethnographischen Filme oft verbunden mit einem autoritären kolonialen Blick. Auch heute noch besteht die Dokumentarfilmindustrie zu großen Teilen aus gut finanzierten Produktionen westlicher Filmemacher*innen, die den Globalen Süden als Ort des Elends darstellen und damit eine Nachfrage bei ihrem Publikum bedienen. Als Reaktion schufen nicht-westliche Filmemacher*innen eigene, den kolonialen Blick umkehrende Bilder, und einige westliche Regisseur*innen begannen ihre Position zu hinterfragen. Decolonizing the Screen präsentiert eine Reihe von Perspektiven, die die andauernde Geschichte des kolonialen Blicks herausfordert und Diskussionen zum Erbe des ethnographischen Films und der Politik dokumentarischer Filmproduktion öffnen.

Necati Sönmez arbeitet als Filmkritiker, Journalist und Filmemacher. Er ist der Initiator des Which Human Rights? Film Festival und einer der Gründer des Documentarist Filmfestival, das sich bald zum wichtigsten Dokumentarfilmfestival in der Türkei entwickelte. Er Jurymitglied bei über dreissig Festivals und kuratierte diverse Dokumentarfilmprogramme. 2021 ist er Stipendiat bei bi’bak.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

OmeU

Cairo Is Illuminated by Its People

الساندويتش Al-Sandwich
The Sandwich
Ateyyat El Abnoudy, Ägypten 1975, 12 Min., no dialogue

 طبيب في الأرياف Tabib Fi-l-Aryaf
The Countryside Doctor
Khairy Beshara, Ägypten 1975
, 22 Min. OmeU

القاهرة منورة بأهلها Al-qahira menauwwara bi Ahlaha
Cairo Is Illuminated by Its People
Youssef Chahine, Ägypten/Frankreich 1991, 23 Min. OmeU

Mit Cairo is Illuminated by Its People versuchte Youssef Chahine, die Vielschichtigkeit der ägyptischen Hauptstadt einzufangen. Als der Film in Cannes uraufgeführt wurde, warf man ihm vor, dem Westen durch die gezeigte Armut ein falsches Bild zu vermitteln, und der Film wurde schließlich verboten. Wir zeigen Chahines Stadtportrait zusammen mit zwei international unbekannten Entdeckungen von Khairy Beshara und Ateyyat El Abnoudy. Alle drei Filme beleuchten unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf das Alltagsleben in Ägypten, der eine in Kairo, die anderen beiden in ländlichen Teilen des Landes.

Regie 
Alanis Obomsawin Kanada 1993

119 min., OmeU

Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance

Im Sommer 1990 löste ein Konflikt um einen Golfplatz, der auf dem Land der Kanien'kéhaka (Mohawks) in Oka, Quebec, gebaut werden sollte, großen Widerstand der indigenen Community aus. Die Dokumentarfilmerin und First-Nations-Aktivistin Alanis Obomsawin dokumentiert die 78 Tage andauernde Konfrontation zwischen den bewaffneten Mohawks, die von Mainstream-Politikern als Kriminelle dargestellt wurden, und den Sicherheitskräften.

Regie Anastasia Lapsui/Markku Lehmuskallio Finnland 2000

90 min., OmeU

Seitsemän laulua tundralta / Seven Songs From the Tundra

Seven Songs From the Tundra zeigt sieben facettenreiche Geschichten über das Leben der Nenets, Nomaden im Norden Russlands. Entstanden in gemeinsamer Arbeit mit der Community und geschrieben von der indigenen Drehbuchautorin und Filmemacherin Anastasia Lapsui in der Nenet-Sprache, entwirft der Film ein detailliertes Bild davon, wie die Menschen in dieser Region, geplagt von extremer Kälte, Schikanen und dem Druck zur Assimilierung, während der Sowjetzeit um ihr Überleben kämpften.

Regie Kazuo Hara Japan 1987

122 min., OmeU

ゆきゆきて、神軍 / The Emperor’s Naked Army Marches On

Kenzo Okuzaki, ein Veteran der kaiserlichen Armee und Überlebender des Krieges in Neuguinea, fordert im Alleingang das politische Establishment im Japan der Nachkriegszeit heraus. Okuzaki, der den Kaiser für die Kriegsverbrechen verantwortlich macht, protestiert auf unterschiedlichste Arten: Er fährt mit regierungskritischen Slogans durch die Gegend, verbreitet Nacktbilder des Kaisers und versucht, den Offizier zu töten, der die Exekution seiner Kameraden angeordnet hat. Fünf Jahre hat Kazuo Hara an dem Dokumentarfilm gearbeitet, der die Kolonialmacht von innen heraus zersetzt.

Regie Trinh T. Minh-ha USA 1989

108 min., OmeU

Surname Viet Given Name Nam

Was ist, wenn ein Land den Kampf gegen seinen Kolonisator gewinnt, die Bevölkerung aber weiter unter einem System männlicher Dominanz hält? Laut den im Film interviewten Frauen ist genau das nach dem Krieg in Vietnam passiert. Begleitet von Liedern und Zeugnissen über weibliche Identität, Familienbeziehungen, Exil, Gewalt und Erinnerung, erforscht Surname Viet Given Name Nam die Rolle von Frauen in Vietnam und den USA. Unter Verwendung von umfangreichem Archivmaterial hinterfragt Trinh T. Minh-ha auch die Rolle des Interviews im Dokumentarfilm.

Regie Marta Rodríguez/Jorge Silva Kolumbien 1982

108 min., OmeU

Nuestra voz de tierra, memoria y futuro / Our Voice of Earth, Memory and Future

Our Voice of Earth, Memory and Future dokumentiert die ersten Jahre des Cauca Regional Indigenous Council (CRIC) und seinen Kampf um die Rückgabe indigener Territorien. Mit einer Mischung aus nüchterner Dokumentation und phantastischen Bildwelten verknüpft der Film Mythos, Poesie und Erinnerung und fängt einen entscheidenden Moment des modernen “indigenous rights movement” ein. Eine Reflexion über die jahrhundertelange Unterdrückung von Bauern und indigener Bevölkerung in Kolumbien.

OmeU

The Vampires of Poverty + REW-FFWD

Agarrando Pueblo
The Vampires of Poverty 
Carlos Mayolo/Luis Ospina, Kolumbien 1977, 28 Min., OmeU

Eine manifestartige Mockumentary über den von der westlichen Welt produzierten und konsumierten “Misery Porn”. Der kolumbianische Filmemacher Luis Ospina und sein Jugendfreund Carlos Mayolo agieren als Filmteam, das für das deutsche Fernsehen arbeitet und in den Straßen von Cali Straßenkindern, Armen und Prostituierten hinterherjagt. Ein skurriler Film voller schwarzem Humor und Satire, der die Ausbeutung von Elend im Globalen Süden durch die westliche Film- und Fernsehindustrie thematisiert.

REW-FFWD
Denis Villeneuve, Kanada 1994, 31 Min., OmeU

Für seine erste Regiearbeit plante Denis Villeneuve in Jamaika einen Reisefilm zu drehen. Stattdessen entstand ein experimenteller Dokumentarfilm über seine Position als Filmemacher, den erlebten Kulturschock, und die Menschen, die er traf. Die Geschichte über einen fiktiven französisch-kanadischen Fotojournalisten oszilliert zwischen Psychodrama und Dokumentation. Oder wie es der Protagonist ausdrückt: “Diese menschliche Hölle ist ein Paradies für die Photographie”.

OmeU

Afrique 50 + Afrique sur Seine + You Hide Me

Afrique 50
René Vautier, Frankreich 1950, 17 Min., OmeU

Als 21-jähriger Student erhielt René Vautier den Auftrag, einen Film über das tägliche Leben von Dorfbewohnern und die Vorzüge des französischen Kolonialismus in Westafrika zu drehen. Stattdessen wurde er Zeuge von grausamen Lebensbedingungen und den Gewalttaten, die im Namen seines Heimatlandes begangen wurden. Schlussendlich drehte er einen militanten Film, der die Brutalitäten des französischen Militärs offen legte. Afrique 50 gilt der erste antikoloniale Film Frankreichs, war über 40 Jahre lang verboten und brachte dem Regisseur eine mehrmonatige Gefängnisstrafe ein.

Afrique sur Seine
Paulin Soumanou Vieyra/ Mamadou Sarr, Frankreich 1955, 22 Min., OmeU

1934 erließ die französische Regierung das Laval-Dekret, das afrikanische Filmemacher*innen bis 1960 daran hindern sollte, in den französischen Kolonien in Afrika zu drehen. Afrique sur Seine ist ein satirischer Versuch, diese Zensur zu umgehen. Gefilmt in den Straßen von Paris, beobachtet der Film die französische Gesellschaft auf die gleiche Weise, wie französische Filmemacher*innen in ihren ethnografischen Filmen die Menschen darstellen.

You Hide Me
Nii Kwate Owoo, Ghana 1970, 16 Min., OmeU

Der ghanaische Filmemacher Kwate Nii Owoo erhielt Zugang zu den unterirdischen Depots des British Museum und filmte die wertvollen afrikanischen Artefakte, die im Keller verstaut sind. Ein Tag reichte aus, um das Ausmaß des Diebstahls von afrikanischer Kunst aufzuzeigen, die in Plastiktüten und Holzkisten gebunkert ist. „Wir stießen auf eine enorme Sammlung… Tausende von wichtigen Kunstwerken, die nie ausgestellt wurden.“

About

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

From September 2020 on bi’bak will embark on a cinema experiment at Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA explores cinema as a space for social discourse, a place for exchange and solidarity. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA brings together diverse social communities, links geographically distant and nearby places, the past, present and future, and decentres an eurocentric view through transnational, (post-) migrant and postcolonial perspectives. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is a transtopia, a place where “cross-border ties and connections converge, are reinterpreted and condense into everyday contexts” (Erol Yıldız). As part of the pioneering urban policy Initiative Haus der Statistik, the cinema experiment bridges the gap between everyday urban practices and film to create an alternative art form that connects different social perspectives.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds, Conrad Stiftung and the Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

bi'bakino

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Past event series can be found in the archive.

Series
to

Curated by Popo Fan, Tobias Hering, Malve Lippmann, Branka Pavlovic, Can Sungu, Sarnt Utamachote and Florian Wüst

more
to

Curated by Necati Sönmez

more
Decolonizing the Screen

As Louis Malle once put it, “A westerner with a camera is twice a westerner”. Afterall, cinema started its long journey in a colonial context, considering the Lumière Brothers visited countries of the Global South in order to film the “Other”. Consequently, the early ethnographical documentary works were often associated with an authoritative colonial gaze. At present, the documentary industry is still to a large extent based on well-funded films produced by western filmmakers framing the Global South as a site of misery, exploiting images in order to satisfy the demand of the West. In response, non-western filmmakers created their own images by reversing the colonizer's gaze, and some western filmmakers ended up questioning themselves rather than feeding into the expectations. Decolonizing the Screen shows a selection of perspectives which challenge the continued history of the colonial gaze and open up discussions on the legacy of ethnographic films as well as the politics of documentary production.

Necati Sönmez works as a film critic, journalist and documentary filmmaker. He is the initiator of Which Human Rights? Film Festival and one of the founders of Documentarist – Istanbul Documentary Days, which soon became the most important documentary festival in Turkey. He has served as jury member in over 30 festivals and curated documentary programmes as a guest curator. For 2021 he is a fellow at bi’bak.

To the events

to

Critical Conditions

Fields of action in the environmental crisis

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan and Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

more

To the archive

Events

OV with English subs

The Vampires of Poverty + REW-FFWD

Agarrando Pueblo
The Vampires of Poverty
Carlos Mayolo/Luis Ospina, Colombia 1977, 28 min., OV with English subtitles

A manifesto-like mockumentary on “misery porn” produced and consumed by the western world. The influential Colombian filmmaker Luis Ospina and his childhood friend Carlos Mayolo act as a film crew working for German TV who chase after poor people, street kids, and hookers in the streets of Cali. A quirky film full of black humour and satire addressing the exploitation of misery in the Global South by the western audiovisual industry.

REW-FFWD
Denis Villeneuve, Canada 1994, 31 min. OV with English subtitles

In his directorial debut short Denis Villeneuve traveled to Jamaica planning to film a travelogue. Instead, he made an experimental documentary about his position as a filmmaker, the cultural shock he experienced, and the people he met. The story about a fictional French-Canadian photojournalist oscillates between psychodrama and documentary: “This human hell is a paradise for photography,” he says at one point.

OV with English subs

Afrique 50 + Afrique sur Seine + You Hide Me

Afrique 50
René Vautier, France 1950, 17 min., OV with English subtitles

As a 21-year-old student, René Vautier was commissioned to make a film about the daily lives of villagers and the benefits of French colonialism in West Africa. Instead he witnessed horrible living conditions and violent acts committed by the army in the name of his home country. He ended up making a militant film exposing the brutalities of the French military. Considered as the first French anti-colonial film, Afrique 50 was banned for over 40 years with the director spending several months in jail.

Afrique sur Seine
Paulin Soumanou Vieyra/ Mamadou Sarr, France 1955, 22 min., OV with English subtitles

In 1934 the French government passed the Laval Decree in order to prevent African filmmakers from filming in French African colonies. Afrique sur Seine is a satirical attempt to skirt around this censorship that was only overturned in 1960. Filmed in the streets of Paris, the film observes French society the same way French filmmakers portrayed the Africans in their ethnographic films. 

You Hide Me
Nii Kwate Owoo, Ghana 1970, 16 min., OV with English subtitles

Ghanaian filmmaker Kwate Nii Owoo gained access to the British Museum's underground vaults and filmed the valuable African artefacts hidden in the basement. One day of filming was enough to expose the theft and concealment of ancient and rare African art stashed away in plastic bags and wooden boxes. “We came across an enormous collection... thousands of important works of art that have never been exhibited.” 

OV with English subs

Cairo Is Illuminated by Its People

الساندويتشAl-Sandwich
The Sandwich
Ateyyat El Abnoudy, Egypt 1975, 12 min., no dialogue

 طبيب في الأرياف Tabib Fi-l-Aryaf 
The Countryside Doctor
Khairy Beshara, Egypt 1975
, 22 min., OV with English subtitles

القاهرة منورة بأهلها Al-qahira menauwwara bi Ahlaha
Cairo Is Illuminated by Its People
Youssef Chahine, Egypt/France 1991, 23 min., OV with English subtitles

In Cairo is Illuminated by Its People Youssef Chahine tried to capture the soul of overcrowded Cairo, its people, and everyday life. When the film premiered in Cannes, he was accused of giving the West a false image of Egypt by showing Cairo’s poverty and the film was eventually banned. We show the documentary along with two internationally unknown little gems by Khairy Beshara and Ateyyat El Abnoudy. The three films reflect different views on everyday life in Egypt, one in Cairo, the other two in rural parts of the country.

Director 
Alanis Obomsawin Canada 1993

119 min., OV with English subs

Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance

In the summer of 1990, a dispute over a golf course to be built on Kanien’kéhaka (Mohawk) lands in Oka, Quebec, sparked off a huge pushback by the indigenous community. The documentary filmmaker and First Nations activist Alanis Obomsawin chronicles the 78 days of the confrontation between the armed Mohawks, who were presented as criminals by mainstream politicians, and the security forces.

Director Anastasia Lapsui/Markku Lehmuskallio Finland 2000

90 min., OV with English subs

Seitsemän laulua tundralta / Seven Songs From the Tundra

Seven Songs From the Tundra features seven multi-faceted stories on the life of the Nenets, a nomad community in northern Russia. Made through the joint effort of the community and written by native Anastasia Lapsui in the Nenet language, it provides a beautifully detailed picture of how the people in this region, plagued by extreme cold, harassment and the pressure to assimilate, struggled to live and survive during the Soviet times.

Director Kazuo Hara Japan 1987

122 min., OV with English subs

ゆきゆきて、神軍 / The Emperor’s Naked Army Marches On

Kenzo Okuzaki, a veteran of the Imperial Army and survivor of the war in New Guinea, single-handedly challenges the postwar political establishment of Japan. Holding the Emperor responsible for the war crimes, Okuzaki protests in various ways such as driving around with anti-government slogans, distributing the Emperor's naked images, and attempting to kill the officer who ordered the execution of his fellow soldiers. Five years in the making, Kazuo Hara's documentary defies the colonial power from within.

Director Trinh T. Minh-ha USA 1989

108 min., OV with English subs

Surname Viet Given Name Nam

What if a country gains victory against its colonizer but still keeps the population under a system of male dominance? According to the Vietnamese women interviewed in the film, that is what happened in post-war Vietnam. Accompanied by songs and testimonies about female identity, family relations, exile, violence and memory, Surname Viet Given Name Nam explores the role of women in Vietnam and the United States. Using a great amount of stock footage, Trinh T. Minh-ha also questions the role of the interview in documentary filmmaking.

Director Marta Rodríguez/Jorge Silva Colombia 1982

108 min., OV with English subs

Nuestra voz de tierra, memoria y futuro / Our Voice of Earth, Memory and Future


Our Voice of Earth, Memory and Future documents the first years of the Cauca Regional Indigenous Council (CRIC) and its struggle to reclaim ancestral territories, reflecting on the centuries-long oppression of farmers and indigenous peoples in Colombia. Fusing straightforward documentation and fantastical visualization, the film mingles myth, poetry, and popular memory while capturing a defining moment in the modern indigenous rights movement.