About

bi'bak's research-based exhibitions focus on widely neglected narratives in (Western) Europe in order to generate new perspectives that are crucial to a complex understanding of socio-political and socio-economic contexts worldwide.

Exhibitions
to

BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

By Can Sungu and Malve Lippmann

more
BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt

BITTER THINGS – Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is a research-based exhibition project by bi’bak that explores the impact of labor migration on the notion of motherhood and family from the perspectives of women migrant workers and children left behind. The installation takes experiences of transnational families from both past and present as a point of departure and brings narratives together with objects, which play a central role within the families.

Labor migration is worldwide creating new models of the transnational family, which despite geographical distances strives to maintain contact between the separated family members. In the time of the recruitment agreements in the 1960s, many parents were forced to leave their children behind since working hours were too demanding to make childcare on the side possible. Today it is predominantly migrant workers from Eastern Europe, who have to leave their families to earn a living in wealthier countries. Turkey, as a former country of emigration, has in turn become a destination for many workers, especially in the care sector, from Eastern Europe, the Caucasus or the Central Asian region.

But, how is the relationship between parents and children to be redefined whenever gifts and material support take the place of shared experience? When physical closeness has to take second place to communication programs like Skype and WhatsApp? How does this changing family landscape impact children and their parents? BITTER THINGS retraces positions on this topic from the 1960s right up to present day perspectives.

Besides the exhibitions a side program with films, lectures and discussions has been curated by bi’bak. Moreover a publication with academic and literary contributions, interviews, songs and photos examining the topic from interdisciplinary perspectives has been released. Order your copy . A booklet with selected texts in German and photographs of the exhibition can be downloaded here.

Concept and Artistic Direction: Malve Lippmann, Can Sungu
Exhibition Design: Malve Lippmann
Editing, Research: Maike Suhr

A project by bi’bak in cooperation with Historisches Museum Frankfurt.

To the events

to

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

SILA YOLU | Berlin

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
Events
Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt - Opening

Location: Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt
Am Saalhof 1

Wednesday, 27.11.2019 19:00 Opening

BITTER THINGS – Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is a research-based exhibition project by bi’bak that explores the impact of labor migration on the notion of motherhood and family from the perspectives of women migrant workers and children left behind. The installation takes experiences of transnational families from both past and present as a point of departure and brings narratives together with objects, which play a central role within the families.

Labor migration is worldwide creating new models of the transnational family, which despite geographical distances strives to maintain contact between the separated family members. In the time of the recruitment agreements in the 1960s, many parents were forced to leave their children behind since working hours were too demanding to make childcare on the side possible. Today it is predominantly migrant workers from Eastern Europe, who have to leave their families to earn a living in wealthier countries. Turkey, as a former country of emigration, has in turn become a destination for many workers, especially in the care sector, from Eastern Europe, the Caucasus or the Central Asian region.

But, how is the relationship between parents and children to be redefined whenever gifts and material support take the place of shared experience? When physical closeness has to take second place to communication programs like Skype and WhatsApp? How does this changing family landscape impact children and their parents? BITTER THINGS retraces positions on this topic from the 1960s right up to present day perspectives.

Besides the exhibitions a side program with films, lectures and discussions has been curated by bi’bak. Moreover a publication with academic and literary contributions, interviews, songs and photos examining the topic from interdisciplinary perspectives has been released. Order your copy . A booklet with selected texts in German and photographs of the exhibition can be downloaded here.

Concept and Artistic Direction: Malve Lippmann, Can Sungu
Exhibition Design: Malve Lippmann
Editing, Research: Maike Suhr

A project by bi’bak in cooperation with Historisches Museum Frankfurt.

Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Discussion with Prof. Dr. Helma Lutz, Malve Lippmann und Maike Suhr, Pantoula Vagelakou

care work and relationships in transnational families

Experts, sholars and artists discuss how women in car work deal with work-related separation from their families and children. With the research-based installation "BITTER THINGS - Memories and Narratives of transnational Families" by bi'bak, the Stadtlabor's exhibition places a transdisciplinary focus on this little worked on topic.


Funded by the Women's Department of the City of Frankfurt

Über

bi’bak's recherchebasierte Ausstellungen nehmen in (West-) Europa wenig beleuchtete Narrative in den Blick, um neue Perspektiven zu generieren, die für ein komplexes Verständnis sozialpolitischer und sozioökonomischer Zusammenhänge weltweit entscheidend sind.

Ausstellungen
bis

BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Von Can Sungu und Malve Lippmann

mehr
BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt

BITTER THINGS – Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien ist ein forschungsbasiertes Ausstellungsprojekt von bi’bak, das die Auswirkungen von Arbeitsmigration auf Mutterschaft und Familie aus der Perspektive von Arbeitsmigrantinnen und ihren Kindern untersucht. Ausgehend von Erfahrungen transnationaler Familien aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bringt die Installation Erzählungen mit Objekten zusammen, die in den Familien eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Arbeitsmigration führt weltweit zu neuen Familienmodellen, die häufig transnational organisiert sind. Der familiäre Kontakt wird dabei trotz geografischer Trennung aufrechterhalten. In der Zeit der Anwerbeabkommen in den 1960er Jahren waren viele Eltern gezwungen, ihre Kinder bei Verwandten zurückzulassen. Die Arbeitszeiten waren so vereinnahmend, dass die Kinderbetreuung nicht zu bewältigen war. Heute sind es im europäischen Raum vorwiegend Arbeitsmigrant*innen aus Osteuropa, die ihre Familien verlassen, um in wirtschaftlich besser gestellten Ländern ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen.

Doch wie definiert sich das Verhältnis von Eltern und Kindern neu, wenn Geschenke und materielle Unterstützung an die Stelle von gemeinsamem Erleben treten? Wenn körperliche Nähe hinter Chat und Videotelefonie zurücktreten muss? Wie ergeht es dabei den Kindern und wie ihren Eltern? BITTER THINGS versammelt Positionen zum Thema von den 1960er Jahren bis heute.

Parallel zur Ausstellung hat bi’bak ein Begleitprogramm aus Filmvorführungen, Vorträgen und Diskussionen kuratiert. Zum Thema ist darüber hinaus eine Publikation mit wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Beiträgen, Interviews, Liedern und Fotos erschienen, die das Thema interdisziplinär beleuchtet. Die Publikation kann hier bestellt werden. Ein Booklet mit ausgewählten Texten auf Deutsch und Ausstellungsansichten ist hier verfügbar.

Konzept und Künstlerische Leitung: Malve Lippmann, Can Sungu
Ausstellungsdesign: Malve Lippmann
Redaktion, Forschung: Maike Suhr

Ein Projekt von bi’bak in Kooperation mit dem Historischen Museum Frankfurt. 

Zu den Veranstaltungen

bis

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

SILA YOLU | Berlin

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
Veranstaltungen
Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

BITTER THINGS | Frankfurt - Eröffnung

Ort: Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt
Am Saalhof 1

Mittwoch, 27.11.2019 19:00 Eröffnung

BITTER THINGS – Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien ist ein forschungsbasiertes Ausstellungsprojekt von bi’bak, das die Auswirkungen von Arbeitsmigration auf Mutterschaft und Familie aus der Perspektive von Arbeitsmigrantinnen und ihren Kindern untersucht. Ausgehend von Erfahrungen transnationaler Familien aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bringt die Installation Erzählungen mit Objekten zusammen, die in den Familien eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Arbeitsmigration führt weltweit zu neuen Familienmodellen, die häufig transnational organisiert sind. Der familiäre Kontakt wird dabei trotz geografischer Trennung aufrechterhalten. In der Zeit der Anwerbeabkommen in den 1960er Jahren waren viele Eltern gezwungen, ihre Kinder bei Verwandten zurückzulassen. Die Arbeitszeiten waren so vereinnahmend, dass die Kinderbetreuung nicht zu bewältigen war. Heute sind es im europäischen Raum vorwiegend Arbeitsmigrant*innen aus Osteuropa, die ihre Familien verlassen, um in wirtschaftlich besser gestellten Ländern ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen.

Doch wie definiert sich das Verhältnis von Eltern und Kindern neu, wenn Geschenke und materielle Unterstützung an die Stelle von gemeinsamem Erleben treten? Wenn körperliche Nähe hinter Chat und Videotelefonie zurücktreten muss? Wie ergeht es dabei den Kindern und wie ihren Eltern? BITTER THINGS versammelt Positionen zum Thema von den 1960er Jahren bis heute.

Parallel zur Ausstellung hat bi’bak ein Begleitprogramm aus Filmvorführungen, Vorträgen und Diskussionen kuratiert. Zum Thema ist darüber hinaus eine Publikation mit wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Beiträgen, Interviews, Liedern und Fotos erschienen, die das Thema interdisziplinär beleuchtet. Die Publikation kann hier bestellt werden. Ein Booklet mit ausgewählten Texten auf Deutsch und Ausstellungsansichten ist hier verfügbar.

Konzept und Künstlerische Leitung: Malve Lippmann, Can Sungu
Ausstellungsdesign: Malve Lippmann
Redaktion, Forschung: Maike Suhr

Ein Projekt von bi’bak in Kooperation mit dem Historischen Museum Frankfurt. 

Stadtlabor-Forum Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Podiumsdiskussion mit Prof. Dr. Helma Lutz, Malve Lippmann und Maike Suhr, Pantoula Vagelakou

Care-Arbeit und transnationale Familienbeziehungen

Expert*innen aus der Wissenschaft, Beratung und Kunst diskutieren, wie Frauen* in der Carearbeit mit der arbeitsbedingten Trennung von ihren Familien und Kindern umgehen. Mit der forschungsbasierten Installation „BITTER THINGS - Erinnerungen und Narrative transnationaler Familien“ von bi’bak legt die Stadtlaborausstellung einen transdiziplinären Schwerpunkt auf dieses bisher wenig beachtete Thema. 
 

Gefördert vom Frauenreferat der Stadt Frankfurt