Über

bi’bak's recherchebasierte Ausstellungen nehmen in (West-) Europa wenig beleuchtete Narrative in den Blick, um neue Perspektiven zu generieren, die für ein komplexes Verständnis sozialpolitischer und sozioökonomischer Zusammenhänge weltweit entscheidend sind.

Ausstellungen
bis

SILA YOLU | Berlin

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | IASI

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Kuratiert von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | IASI

Nach Stationen in Timişoara, Cluj und Braşov zieht bi'baks recherchebasierte Ausstellung BITTER THINGS - Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien weiter und ist in Iaşi, Rumänien, im Palatul Culturii Iaşi zu sehen.

BITTER THINGS – Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien ist ein forschungsbasiertes Ausstellungsprojekt von bi’bak, das die Auswirkungen von Arbeitsmigration auf Mutterschaft und Familie aus der Perspektive von Arbeitsmigrantinnen und ihren Kindern untersucht. Ausgehend von Erfahrungen transnationaler Familien aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bringt die Installation Erzählungen mit Objekten zusammen, die in den Familien eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Arbeitsmigration führt weltweit zu neuen Familienmodellen, die häufig transnational organisiert sind. Der familiäre Kontakt wird dabei trotz geografischer Trennung aufrechterhalten. In der Zeit der Anwerbeabkommen in den 1960er Jahren waren viele Eltern gezwungen, ihre Kinder bei Verwandten zurückzulassen. Die Arbeitszeiten waren so vereinnahmend, dass die Kinderbetreuung nicht zu bewältigen war. Heute sind es im europäischen Raum vorwiegend Arbeitsmigrant*innen aus Osteuropa, die ihre Familien verlassen, um in wirtschaftlich besser gestellten Ländern ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen.

Doch wie definiert sich das Verhältnis von Eltern und Kindern neu, wenn Geschenke und materielle Unterstützung an die Stelle von gemeinsamem Erleben treten? Wenn körperliche Nähe hinter Chat und Videotelefonie zurücktreten muss? Wie ergeht es dabei den Kindern und wie ihren Eltern? BITTER THINGS versammelt Positionen zum Thema von den 1960er Jahren bis heute.

Zum Thema ist darüber hinaus eine Publikation mit wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Beiträgen, Interviews, Liedern und Fotos erschienen, die das Thema interdisziplinär beleuchtet. Die Publikation kann hier bestellt werden. Ein Booklet mit ausgewählten Texten auf Deutsch und Ausstellungsansichten ist hier verfügbar.

Vernissage: 12.05.2022 12:00

In Kooperation mit dem Centrul Cultural German, Muzeul de Istorie a Moldovei im Rahmen von Complexul Muzeal National "Moldova" Iasi, unterstützt durch das Goethe-Institut

Malve Lippmann studierte an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart und am Institut für Kunst im Kontext (UdK) in Berlin. Als freiberufliche Bühnenbildnerin und Künstlerin zeichnete sie international verantwortlich für die Gestaltung zahlreicher Performances, Opern- und Schauspielproduktionen. Seit 2010 ist Malve Lippmann als Kuratorin und Kulturmanagerin tätig, leitet künstlerische Workshops und Seminare und ist in diversen Kultur- und Community-Projekten aktiv. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und künstlerische Leiterin von bi’bak und SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA.

Can Sungu studierte Filmdesign und visuelles Kommunikationsdesign in Istanbul und am Institut für Kunst im Kontext an der UdK Berlin. Er leitete Workshops und Seminare im Bereich Film und veröffentlichte Texte zu Film und Migration. Als Künstler nahm er an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teil, unter anderem an der MMSU Rijeka, dem Künstlerhaus Vienna und REDCAT Los Angeles. Er ist Mitbegründer und künstlerischer Leiter von bi'bak.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen
Iasi, Rumänien

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | ERÖFFNUNG IASI

Ort: Iasi, Rumänien
Palatul Culturii din Iași - Complexul Muzeal Național „Moldova

Donnerstag, 12.05.2022 12:00 Eröffnung

BITTER THINGS wird am 12.05.2022 in Anwesenheit der Kuratorin Malve Lippmann in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centrul Cultural German im Palatul Culturii din Iași in Iaşi eröffnet.

About

bi'bak's research-based exhibitions focus on widely neglected narratives in (Western) Europe in order to generate new perspectives that are crucial to a complex understanding of socio-political and socio-economic contexts worldwide.

Exhibitions
to

SILA YOLU | Berlin

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | IASI

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

Curated by Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | IASI

After having been displayed in Timisoara, Cluj and Brasov, BITTER THINGS - Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families moves to the Palatul Culturii Iaşi in Iasi, Romania.

BITTER THINGS Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is a research-based exhibition project by bi’bak that explores the impact of labor migration on the notion of motherhood and family from the perspectives of women migrant workers and the children left behind. The installation takes the experiences of transnational families from both the past and present as a point of departure and brings narratives together with objects that play a central role within the families.

Labor migration is worldwide creating new models of the transnational family, which despite geographical distances strives to maintain contact between the separated family members. In the time of the recruitment agreements in the 1960s, many parents were forced to leave their children behind since working hours were too demanding to make childcare on the side possible. Today it is predominantly migrant workers from Eastern Europe, who have to leave their families to earn a living in wealthier countries. Turkey, as a former country of emigration, has in turn become a destination for many workers, especially in the care sector, from Eastern Europe, the Caucasus or the Central Asian region.

But how is the relationship between parents and children to be redefined whenever gifts and material support take the place of shared experience? When physical closeness has to take second place to communication programs like Skype and WhatsApp? How does this changing family landscape impact children and their parents? BITTER THINGS retraces positions on this topic from the 1960s right up to present-day perspectives.

Besides the exhibitions, a publication has been released which includes academic and literary contributions, interviews, songs, and photos examining the topic from interdisciplinary perspectives. Order your copy here. A booklet with selected texts in German and photographs of the exhibition can be downloaded here.

Opening: 12.05.2022 12:00

In cooperation with Centrul Cultural German, Muzeul de Istorie a Moldovei in the context of Complexul Muzeal National "Moldova" Iasi, with the support of the Goethe-Institut

Malve Lippmann studied at the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart and at the Institute for Art in Context (UdK) in Berlin. As a freelance stage designer and artist, she has been internationally responsible for the design of numerous performances, opera- and theatre productions. Since 2010, Malve Lippmann has been working as a curator and cultural manager, leading artistic workshops and seminars and is active in various cultural- and community projects. She is co-founder and artistic director of bi'bak and SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA.

Can Sungu studied film and visual communication design in Istanbul and at the Institute for Art in Context at the Berlin University of the Arts. He has given workshops and seminars in the field of film and published texts on film and migration. As an artist, he participated in numerous exhibitions, including at MMSU Rijeka, Künstlerhaus Vienna and REDCAT Los Angeles. He is co-founder and artistic director of bi‘bak.

To the events

Events
Iasi, Romania

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | OPENING IASI

Location: Iasi, Romania
Palatul Culturii din Iași - Complexul Muzeal Național „Moldova

Thursday, 12.05.2022 12:00 Opening

BITTER THINGS opens on 12.05.2022 in Iaşi in cooperation with the Centrul Cultural German at the Palatul Culturii din Iași.