Über

bi’bak's recherchebasierte Ausstellungen nehmen in (West-) Europa wenig beleuchtete Narrative in den Blick, um neue Perspektiven zu generieren, die für ein komplexes Verständnis sozialpolitischer und sozioökonomischer Zusammenhänge weltweit entscheidend sind.

Ausstellungen
bis

SILA YOLU | Berlin

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

Der Ferientransit in die Türkei und die Erzählungen der Autobahn

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | Timisoara

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | Timisoara

Vom 23. Oktober 2020 bis zum 04. Dezember 2020 ist bi'baks recherchebasierte Ausstellung BITTER THINGS - Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien in Timisoara, Rumänien, im Rahmen von Timisoara - European Capital of Culture 2021 und als Teil des von Prin Banat organisierten Projektes STATIONARY FIREPLACES zu sehen.

BITTER THINGS – Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien ist ein forschungsbasiertes Ausstellungsprojekt von bi’bak, das die Auswirkungen von Arbeitsmigration auf Mutterschaft und Familie aus der Perspektive von Arbeitsmigrantinnen und ihren Kindern untersucht. Ausgehend von Erfahrungen transnationaler Familien aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bringt die Installation Erzählungen mit Objekten zusammen, die in den Familien eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Arbeitsmigration führt weltweit zu neuen Familienmodellen, die häufig transnational organisiert sind. Der familiäre Kontakt wird dabei trotz geografischer Trennung aufrechterhalten. In der Zeit der Anwerbeabkommen in den 1960er Jahren waren viele Eltern gezwungen, ihre Kinder bei Verwandten zurückzulassen. Die Arbeitszeiten waren so vereinnahmend, dass die Kinderbetreuung nicht zu bewältigen war. Heute sind es im europäischen Raum vorwiegend Arbeitsmigrant*innen aus Osteuropa, die ihre Familien verlassen, um in wirtschaftlich besser gestellten Ländern ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen.

Doch wie definiert sich das Verhältnis von Eltern und Kindern neu, wenn Geschenke und materielle Unterstützung an die Stelle von gemeinsamem Erleben treten? Wenn körperliche Nähe hinter Chat und Videotelefonie zurücktreten muss? Wie ergeht es dabei den Kindern und wie ihren Eltern? BITTER THINGS versammelt Positionen zum Thema von den 1960er Jahren bis heute.

Zum Thema ist darüber hinaus eine Publikation mit wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Beiträgen, Interviews, Liedern und Fotos erschienen, die das Thema interdisziplinär beleuchtet. Die Publikation kann hier bestellt werden. Ein Booklet mit ausgewählten Texten auf Deutsch und Ausstellungsansichten ist hier verfügbar.

Die Ausstellung wird von Lesungen, Gesprächen und Filmvorführungen begleitet.

Mit Unterstützung von Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

In Kooperation mit TM2021, Prin Banat Association und Faber 

Malve Lippmann studierte an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart und am Institut für Kunst im Kontext  (UdK) in Berlin(MA). Seit 1999 arbeitet sie international als freie Bühnenbildnerin und Künstlerin. Sie leitete sie zahlreiche künstlerische Workshops und Seminare und ist außerdem als Kulturmanagerin in diversen Kultur- und Community-Projekten aktiv. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und künstlerische Leiterin von bi‘bak und Sinema Transtopia.

Can Sungu studierte Filmdesign und visuelles Kommunikationsdesign in Istanbul und am Institut für Kunst im Kontext an der UdK Berlin. Er leitete Workshops und Seminare im Bereich Film und veröffentlichte Texte zu Film und Migration. Als Künstler nahm er an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teil, unter anderem an der MMSU Rijeka, dem Künstlerhaus Vienna und REDCAT Los Angeles. Er ist Mitbegründer und künstlerischer Leiter von bi'bak.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen
FABER

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | Eröffnung Timisoara

Ort: FABER
Splaiul Peneș Curcanul 4-5,

Freitag, 23.10.2020 Eröffnung

From 23 October 2020 to 04 December 2020, BITTER THINGS - Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is presented in Timisoara, Romania, as part of the Timisoara - European Capital of Culture 2021 project STATIONARY FIREPLACES organized by Prin Banat Association.

About

bi'bak's research-based exhibitions focus on widely neglected narratives in (Western) Europe in order to generate new perspectives that are crucial to a complex understanding of socio-political and socio-economic contexts worldwide.

Exhibitions
to

SILA YOLU | Berlin

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

SILA YOLU | Istanbul

The Holiday Transit to Turkey and the Tales of the Highway

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | Timisoara

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

By Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR  | Timisoara

From 23 October 2020 to 04 December 2020, BITTER THINGS - Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is presented in Timisoara, Romania, as part of the Timisoara - European Capital of Culture 2021 project STATIONARY FIREPLACES organized by Prin Banat Association.

BITTER THINGS – Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is a research-based exhibition project by bi’bak that explores the impact of labor migration on the notion of motherhood and family from the perspectives of women migrant workers and children left behind. The installation takes experiences of transnational families from both past and present as a point of departure and brings narratives together with objects, which play a central role within the families.

Labor migration is worldwide creating new models of the transnational family, which despite geographical distances strives to maintain contact between the separated family members. In the time of the recruitment agreements in the 1960s, many parents were forced to leave their children behind since working hours were too demanding to make childcare on the side possible. Today it is predominantly migrant workers from Eastern Europe, who have to leave their families to earn a living in wealthier countries. Turkey, as a former country of emigration, has in turn become a destination for many workers, especially in the care sector, from Eastern Europe, the Caucasus or the Central Asian region.

But, how is the relationship between parents and children to be redefined whenever gifts and material support take the place of shared experience? When physical closeness has to take second place to communication programs like Skype and WhatsApp? How does this changing family landscape impact children and their parents? BITTER THINGS retraces positions on this topic from the 1960s right up to present day perspectives.

Besides the exhibitions a publication with academic and literary contributions, interviews, songs and photos examining the topic from interdisciplinary perspectives has been released. Order your copy here. A booklet with selected texts in German and photographs of the exhibition can be downloaded here.

The exhibition is accompanied by a side program including film screenings, discussions and lectures.

Funded by Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen

In ccoperation with TM2021, Prin Banat Association and Faber 

Malve Lippmann studied at the State Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart and at the Institute for Art in Context at the Berlin University of the Arts (MA). She worked as a freelance stagedesigner and artist. Since 2010 she has also been active as a cultural manager in various cultural and community projects. She is co-founder and artistic director of bi'bak and Sinema Transtopia.

Can Sungu studied film and visual communication design in Istanbul and at the Institute for Art in Context at the Berlin University of the Arts. He has given workshops and seminars in the field of film and published texts on film and migration. As an artist, he participated in numerous exhibitions, including at MMSU Rijeka, Künstlerhaus Vienna and REDCAT Los Angeles. He is co-founder and artistic director of bi‘bak.

To the events

Events
FABER

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

BITTER THINGS | LUCRURI CARE DOR | Opening Timisoara

Location: FABER
Splaiul Peneș Curcanul 4-5,

Friday, 23.10.2020 Opening

From 23 October 2019 to 04 December 2020, BITTER THINGS - Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families is presented in Timisoara, Romania, as part of the Timisoara - European Capital of Culture 2021 project STATIONARY FIREPLACES organized by Prin Banat Association.