About

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

From September 2020 on bi’bak will embark on a cinema experiment at Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA explores cinema as a space for social discourse, a place for exchange and solidarity. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA brings together diverse social communities, links geographically distant and nearby places, the past, present and future, and decentres an eurocentric view through transnational, (post-) migrant and postcolonial perspectives. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is a transtopia, a place where “cross-border ties and connections converge, are reinterpreted and condense into everyday contexts” (Erol Yıldız). As part of the pioneering urban policy Initiative Haus der Statistik, the cinema experiment bridges the gap between everyday urban practices and film to create an alternative art form that connects different social perspectives.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds, Conrad Stiftung and the Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

bi'bakino

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Past event series can be found in the archive.

Series
to

Curated by Popo Fan, Tobias Hering, Malve Lippmann, Branka Pavlovic, Can Sungu, Sarnt Utamachote and Florian Wüst

more
to

Critical Conditions

Fields of action in the environmental crisis

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan and Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

more
to

Sinema of Commoning

Symposium, Screenings, Talks

more
Sinema of Commoning

In cooperation with Bangkok Screening Room (Bangkok), Cinema Akil (Dubai), Cinema ARTA (Cluj-Napoca), Kundur Sinema (Istanbul), Cine CCC (Santiago, Cimatheque (Kairo), Arkipel/ Forum Lenteng (Jakarta).

In 2021 bi’bak is planning a 4-day symposium titled “Sinema of Commoning” at its new space Sinema Transtopia at Haus der Statistik, Berlin-Alexanderplatz. From non-commercial cinema projects in Beirut, Lagos, Prizren, Berlin and beyond, international actors will be invited who are already involved in the development and design of a commons-oriented cinema. The symposium will bring together and further develop concepts and strategies for a sustainable cinema that is oriented towards both the local and global common good. Cinema will be discussed as an artistic and social practice, as a place of public discourse, as an agent of historical and cultural memory, and as a site to distribute film and video formats that are rarely accessible. The underlying focus is: what should and can cinema look like in order for it to represent a place of equal participation and a negotiation of diverse social relations? Namely, how can cinema become a place of commons? This question is particularly valid in a transnational society shaped by migration, with its constantly changing consumption habits and under difficult economic circumstances. Already since 2015 bi'bak has been developing a curated film and event programme that aims to give a space to transnational and non-European as well as (post-)migrant perspectives. Under the topics of “Cultural Memory”, “Transnationality”, “Collective Experience Before, After, and Beyond the Screening” and “The  Cinema Space”, the symposium offers the opportunity to take a look at the political, societal, aesthetic and social significance of a Sinema of Commoning. With discussion panels, film screenings and an accompanying publication, the symposium aims to strengthen cinema as a central site of public culture, cultural memory, and collective experience and sharing. 

Funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes and den Berliner Senat für Kultur und Europa.

To the events

To the archive

Events

Über

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Ab September 2020 startet bi'bak ein Kino-Experiment im Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA untersucht Kino als sozialen Diskursraum, als Ort des Austauschs und der Solidarität. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA bringt diverse soziale Communities zusammen, verknüpft geographisch entfernte und nahe Orte, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und dezentriert einen eurozentristischen Blick durch transnationale, (post-)migrantische und postkoloniale Perspektiven. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA ist eine Transtopie, ein Ort, an dem “grenzüberschreitende Bindungen und Verbindungen zusammenlaufen, neu interpretiert werden und sich zu Alltagskontexten verdichten” (Erol Yıldız).  Im Rahmen der Pioniernutzung der stadtpolitischen Initiative Haus der Statistik schlägt das Kino-Experiment eine Brücke zwischen urbaner Alltagspraxis und Film als alternative, verschiedene soziale Perspektiven verbindende Kunstform.

Gefördert durch den Haupstadtkulturfonds, die Conrad Stiftung und das Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

 

bi'bakino

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Die Veranstaltungsreihen können im Archiv abgerufen werden.

Reihen
bis

Kuratiert von Eirini Fountedaki, Cornelia Lund & Holger Lund (fluctuating images), Philip Rizk und Shohreh Shakoory

mehr
bis

Critical Conditions

Handlungsfelder in der Umweltkrise

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan und Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

mehr
bis

SİNEMANINO

Das Kinderprogramm von SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Konzept von Malve Lippmann

mehr
bis

Weitererzählen

Filme mit abwesenden Protagonist:innen nach der DDR, nach 1990

Kuratiert von Anna Zett und Philipp Goll

mehr
bis

REVOLUTION PRAKTIZIEREN

Filmprogramm und Diskussionen mit dem Schwerpunkt Belarus

Kuratiert von Marina Naprushkina und Agnieszka Kilian

mehr
bis

Common Cold

un.thai.tled Film Festival 2021

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote und Rosalia Namsai Engchuan

mehr
bis

CiNEMA of Commoning

Symposium, Screenings, Talks

mehr
CiNEMA of Commoning

In Kooperation mit Bangkok Screening Room (Bangkok), Cinema Akil (Dubai), Cinema ARTA (Cluj-Napoca), Kundura Sinema (Istanbul), Cine CCC (Santiago de Chile), Cimatheque (Kairo), Arkipel/ Forum Lenteng (Jakarta)

Unter dem Titel “Cinema of Commoning” plant bi’bak 2021 im neuen Kinoraum SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA im Haus der Statistik am Berliner Alexanderplatz ein 4-tägiges Symposium. Es werden dafür internationale Akteur*innen eingeladen, die bereits an der Entwicklung und Gestaltung nicht-kommerzieller, gemeinwohl-orientierter Kinoprojekte beteiligt sind, in Beirut und Lagos, in Prizren, Berlin und anderswo. Auf dem Symposium werden Konzepte und Strategien für ein nachhaltiges, am lokalen und globalen Gemeinwohl ausgerichtetes Kino zusammengetragen und weiterentwickelt. Kino wird als künstlerische und soziale Praxis, als Ort des öffentlichen Diskurses, als Akteur filmhistorischer und erinnerungskultureller Arbeit und als Distributionsort für selten zugängliche Film- und Videoformate diskutiert. Gefragt wird, wie ein Kino aussehen kann, das einen Ort der gleichberechtigten Teilhabe und Verhandlung diverser sozialer Verhältnisse – einen Ort der Commons – darstellt, insbesondere in einer von Migration geprägten, transnationalen Gesellschaft und unter sich verändernden Rezeptionsbedingungen und schwierigen ökonomischen Bedingungen. Bereits seit 2015 entwickelt bi’bak ein kuratiertes Film- und Veranstaltungsprogramm, das transnationalen und außereuropäischen sowie (post-)migrantischen Perspektiven einen eigenen Raum gibt. Unter den thematischen Schwerpunkten “Kulturelle Erinnerung”, “Transnationalität”, “Kollektive Erfahrung vor, nach und jenseits der Vorführung” und “Der Kinoraum” bietet das Symposium die Gelegenheit, die politische, gesellschaftliche, ästhetische und soziale Bedeutung eines Kinos der Commons in den Blick zu nehmen. Mit Diskussionspanels, Filmscreenings und einer begleitenden Publikation will das Symposium Kino als zentralen Ort gesellschaftlicher Öffentlichkeit, kultureller Erinnerung und gemeinschaftlichen Erlebens und Teilens stärken.

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen