About

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

From September 2020 on bi’bak will embark on a cinema experiment at Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA explores cinema as a space for social discourse, a place for exchange and solidarity. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA brings together diverse social communities, links geographically distant and nearby places, the past, present and future, and decentres an eurocentric view through transnational, (post-) migrant and postcolonial perspectives. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is a transtopia, a place where “cross-border ties and connections converge, are reinterpreted and condense into everyday contexts” (Erol Yıldız). As part of the pioneering urban policy Initiative Haus der Statistik, the cinema experiment bridges the gap between everyday urban practices and film to create an alternative art form that connects different social perspectives.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA is funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds, Conrad Stiftung and the Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

bi'bakino

bi'bakino is a curated film program that focuses on transnational narratives, migration and mobility discourses in film and seeks to stimulate differentiated discussions and changes of perspective. The program highlights films from outside Europe that have often not been shown in Berlin before, as well as archive excavations and rediscoveries. Following the film screenings, moderated discussions take place with filmmakers and experts.

Past event series can be found in the archive.

Series
to

Curated by Eirini Fountedaki, Cornelia Lund & Holger Lund (fluctuating images), Philip Rizk and Shohreh Shakoory

more
to

Critical Conditions

Fields of action in the environmental crisis

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan and Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

more
to

SİNEMANINO

Children's cinema from SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Concept by Malve Lippmann

more
to

Stories, continued

Films with absent protagonists, after the GDR, after 1990

Curated by Anna Zett and Philipp Goll

more
Stories, continued

The series brings together films that use documentation and montage in an attempt to revive relationships with people lost in the aftermath of the (geo)political rupture of 1989/90. Sibylle Schönemann's documentary Locked-Up Time (1990) is a piece of investigative research. Following the opening of the border, Schönemann travels from West to East Germany to find those who had been involved in her imprisonment and expulsion in the mid-1980s. In The Iron Age (1991), Thomas Heise resumes a DEFA film project about young people from the socialist model city Eisenhüttenstadt, which had been discontinued in the early 1980s. Angelika Levi's essay film Absent Present (2010) centers on the search for her friend Benji, who was brought to the GDR as a child in 1979 and deported to Namibia in 1990.

In cooperation with the Berlin Grant Program for Artistic Research

Anna Zett is an artist, writer, filmmaker, radio playwright and host of participatory scores for both voice and movement. In collaboration with choreographer Hermann Heisig, she is currently developing the post-socialist group improvisation Resonanz, supported by the Berlin Grant Program for Artistic Research.

Philipp Goll is a freelance writer and works as a research assistant in media studies at the Goethe University Frankfurt/Main. His publications include texts on filmic representations of the political upheaval in Poland in 1989 and the didactic practice of filmmaker Harun Farocki.

To the events

to

PRACTISING REVOLUTION

Film programme and discussions with a focus on Belarus

Curated by Marina Naprushkina and Agnieszka Kilian

more
to

Common Cold

un.thai.tled Film Festival 2021

Curated by Sarnt Utamachote and Rosalia Namsai Engchuan

more

To the archive

Events

Director Sibylle Schönemann Germany 1990

94 Min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Hannes Schönemann

Locked-Up Time

Filmmaker Sibylle Schönemann was arrested by the Stasi in the DDR in 1984 and released by the BRD a year later. She was denied both a farewell and an explanation for her imprisonment. After the opening of the border, Schönemann set out for the former East to find and question those who had imprisoned and guarded her at the time. Yet individual perpetrators are nowhere to be found. With honesty and vehemence, the film illuminates the mechanisms of collective irresponsibility.

Book tickets

Hannes Schönemann has been making documentaries and feature films for 50 years. His early films often show everyday life in the GDR without considering the ideological guidelines, which exposed him to the restrictive film policy. In Sibylle Schönemann’s  Locked-up Time, which deals with the couple's imprisonment in 1985, he was involved as an advisor.

Director Thomas Heise Germany 1991

87 Min., OV

The Iron Age

In 1981, Thomas Heise portrayed a group of four young people in Eisenhüttenstadt, but was unable to complete the film for political reasons. Ten years after the film “Anka and…” was discontinued, two of the protagonists took their own lives. The film follows encounters with  their former friends in everyday yet visually powerful settings in Eisenhüttenstadt and Berlin, looking at the dreams and conflicts of the deceased as well as those who continued to live. A film as sober as it is harrowing about the search for meaning, violent experiences and lost futures.

Followed by a conversation with the hosts of the RESONANZ Assembly Anna Zett and Hermann Heisig 

Book tickets

Director Angelika Levi Germany 2010

84 Min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Angelika Levi

Absent Present

The essay film Absent Present centers on the filmmaker’s search for a missing friend. Benji was brought to the DDR from Namibia as a child in 1979 and sent back there in 1990 after German unification, where Levi met him during filming in 1991. Two years later, Benji returned to Europe and together with Levi, visited his former child home. Itself permanently in a state of travel, Levi’s film tests an aesthetic language sensitized to the visual orders of power. Absent Present is an associative and careful engagement with the border regimes of Europe.

Book tickets

Angelika Levi is a filmmaker, dramaturgist, editor and lecturer. Since 1985, Levi's films have been shown at international film festivals, in exhibitions and in cinemas and have won several awards. On 5th September her film My Life part 2 (2003) will be screened at the Festival Archival Assembly in Berlin.

Über

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Ab September 2020 startet bi'bak ein Kino-Experiment im Haus der Statistik.

SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA untersucht Kino als sozialen Diskursraum, als Ort des Austauschs und der Solidarität. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA bringt diverse soziale Communities zusammen, verknüpft geographisch entfernte und nahe Orte, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und dezentriert einen eurozentristischen Blick durch transnationale, (post-)migrantische und postkoloniale Perspektiven. SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA ist eine Transtopie, ein Ort, an dem “grenzüberschreitende Bindungen und Verbindungen zusammenlaufen, neu interpretiert werden und sich zu Alltagskontexten verdichten” (Erol Yıldız).  Im Rahmen der Pioniernutzung der stadtpolitischen Initiative Haus der Statistik schlägt das Kino-Experiment eine Brücke zwischen urbaner Alltagspraxis und Film als alternative, verschiedene soziale Perspektiven verbindende Kunstform.

Gefördert durch den Haupstadtkulturfonds, die Conrad Stiftung und das Programm NEUSTART KULTUR

 

bi'bakino

bi’bakino ist ein kuratiertes Filmprogramm, das transnationalen Narrativen, Migrations- und Mobilitätsdiskursen im Film nachspürt und rund um die Filme differenzierte Diskussion und Perspektivwechsel anregen will. Dabei legt das Programm einen Schwerpunkt auf Filme, die aus dem außereuropäischen Raum stammen oder in Berlin noch nicht oder nicht oft gezeigt wurden, sowie Archivausgrabungen und Wiederentdeckungen. Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen finden moderierte Gespräche mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen statt.

Die Veranstaltungsreihen können im Archiv abgerufen werden.

Reihen
bis

Kuratiert von Eirini Fountedaki, Cornelia Lund & Holger Lund (fluctuating images), Philip Rizk und Shohreh Shakoory

mehr
bis

Critical Conditions

Handlungsfelder in der Umweltkrise

Kuratiert von Sarnt Utamachote, Malve Lippmann, Rosalia Namsai Engchuan und Pia Chakraverti-Würthwein & Eirini Fountedaki

mehr
bis

SİNEMANINO

Das Kinderprogramm von SİNEMA TRANSTOPIA

Konzept von Dr. Martin Ganguly

mehr
bis

Weitererzählen

Filme mit abwesenden Protagonist:innen nach der DDR, nach 1990

Kuratiert von Anna Zett und Philipp Goll

mehr
Weitererzählen

Die Reihe versammelt Filme, die mittels Dokumentation und Montage versuchen Beziehungen zu Personen wiederaufzugreifen, die in der Folge des (geo-)politischen Bruchs von 1989/90 verlorengegangen sind. Sibylle Schönemanns Dokumentation Verriegelte Zeit (1990) ist eine investigative Kontaktaufnahme. Nach der Grenzöffnung fährt Schönemann in die Noch-DDR, um diejenigen zu finden, die an ihrer Inhaftierung und Ausweisung Mitte der 1980er beteiligt gewesen waren. In Eisenzeit(1991) nimmt Thomas Heise eine Anfang der 1980er Jahre abgebrochene DEFA-Dokumentation über Jugendliche in Eisenhüttenstadt wieder auf. Im Zentrum von Angelika Levis Essayfilm Absent Present (2010) steht die Suche nach ihrem Freund Benji, der 1979 als Kind in die DDR geholt und 1990 nach Namibia abgeschoben wurde.

In Kooperation mit dem Berliner Förderprogramm Künstlerische Forschung

Anna Zett ist Künstlerin, Autorin, Film- und Hörspielmacherin und Gastgeberin partizipatorischer Formate. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreographen Hermann Heisig entwickelt sie zur Zeit die postsozialistische Gruppenimprovisation Resonanz im Rahmen des Berliner Förderprogramms Künstlerische Forschung.

Philipp Goll ist freier Autor und arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Medienwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main. Er veröffentlichte u.a. Texte zur filmischen Repräsentation des politischen Umbruchs 1989 in Polen und der didaktischen Praxis des Filmemachers Harun Farocki.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

bis

REVOLUTION PRAKTIZIEREN

Filmprogramm und Diskussionen mit dem Schwerpunkt Belarus

Kuratiert von Marina Naprushkina und Agnieszka Kilian

mehr

Zum Archiv

Veranstaltungen

Regie Sibylle Schönemann Deutschland 1990

94 Min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Hannes Schönemann

Verriegelte Zeit

Die Filmemacherin Sibylle Schönemann wurde 1984 von der Stasi in der DDR verhaftet und ein Jahr später von der BRD freigekauft. Abschiednehmen blieb ihr verwehrt, ebenso wie die Frage nach dem “Warum?” ihrer Inhaftierung. Nach der Grenzöffnung machte sich Schönemann auf den Weg in die Noch-DDR um diejenigen zu treffen und befragen, die sie damals inhaftiert und bewacht hatten. Individuelle Täter:innen findet sie keine. Mit Ehrlichkeit und Vehemenz untersucht der Film die Mechanismen kollektiver Verantwortungslosigkeit.

Tickets buchen

Hannes Schönemann dreht seit 50 Jahren Dokumentar- wie Spielfilme. Seine frühen Filme zeigen oft die Lebenswirklichkeit der DDR ohne ideologische Einfärbung, was ihn der restriktiven Filmpolitik aussetzte. An Sibylle Schönemanns Film Verriegelte Zeit, die die Inhaftierung des Ehepaars 1985 thematisiert, war er beratend beteiligt.

Regie Thomas Heise Deutschland 1991

87 Min., OF

Eisenzeit

Im Jahr 1981 porträtiert Thomas Heise ein Gruppe von vier Jugendlichen in Eisenhüttenstadt, kann den Film aus politischen Gründen aber nicht fertigstellen. Zehn Jahre nach Abbruch des Films “Anka und…” haben sich zwei der Protagonist:innen das Leben genommen. Der Film begegnet ihren ehemaligen Freund:innen an alltäglichen, bildstarken Schauplätzen in Eisenhüttenstadt und Berlin und blickt auf die Lebensentwürfe und Konflikte der Verstorbenen wie der Weiterlebenden. Ein ebenso nüchterner wie erschütternder Film über Sinnsuche, erlebte Gewalt und verloren gegangene Zukunft. 

Anschliessend Gespräch mit den Gastgeber*innen der RESONANZ Versammlung Anna Zett und Hermann Heisig

Tickets buchen

Regie Angelika Levi Deutschland 2010

84 Min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Angelika Levi

Absent Present

Im Zentrum des Essayfilms Absent Present (Abwesend Anwesend) steht die Suche nach einem verschwundenen Freund der Filmemacherin. Benji wurde 1979 als Kind aus Namibia in die DDR gebracht und 1990 nach der deutschen Vereinigung dorthin zurückgeschickt, wo Levi ihn 1991 bei Dreharbeiten kennenlernte. Zwei Jahre später kehrte Benji nach Europa zurück und besuchte mit Levi sein damaliges Kinderheim. Selbst permanent im Zustand der Reise, erprobt ihr Film eine für visuelle Machtordnungen sensibilisierte Bild-Sprache. Absent Present ist eine assoziative und behutsame Beschäftigung mit den Grenzregimen Europas.

Tickets buchen

Angelika Levi ist Filmemacherin, Dramaturgin, Cutterin und Dozentin. Seit 1985 wurden Levis Filme auf internationalen Filmfestivals, in Ausstellungen und im Kino gezeigt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Am 5. September ist ihr Film Mein Leben Teil 2 (2003) beim Festival Archival Assembly in Berlin zu sehen.