Series

Director Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel Turkey 2019

57 min, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel

Director Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed and Vishu Sejwal India 2019

43, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Shivramkrishna Patil and Susanne Gupta

to

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Curated by Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel and Esra Özban

more

Skin

#95

Director Afraa Batous Syria, Lebanon 2015

82 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Lisa Jöris and Afraa Batous

to

BITTER THINGS

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

Curated by Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

Beyond the War

Syrian Society and Politics before and after 2011

By Amer Katbeh

more
Films

Skin

#95

Director Afraa Batous Syria, Lebanon 2015

82 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Lisa Jöris and Afraa Batous

Skin

In 2010, the director Afraa Batous and a group of young people in Aleppo worked on the text The Hamlet Machine (1977) by East-German writer Heiner Müller. In his play, Müller imagines the end of oppression – a revolution that also leads to destruction. Only one year later, the revolution in Syria breaks out. The remarkable similarity between The Hamlet Machine and the events in Syria after 2011 motivated Afraa to go back and see how her previous colleagues were dealing with the fact that the life they had depicted in the play had now become reality. The result is the film Skin – an intimate portrait of the different paths Batous’ friends from Aleppo took after 2011.

In collaboration with Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient.

Lisa Jöris holds degrees in political science and Arabic language studies. She is currently working on a research project at Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient about how urban infrastructure in Aleppo shaped everyday life and social encounters before 2011. The disruption caused by the revolution is very present in her research.

Afraa Batous was born in Aleppo, Syria. She graduated in English Literature in 2008 and is currently doing her Masters in film directing at Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. Previously, she also worked for five years in theater in Aleppo.

Reihen
bis

Beyond the War

Syrische Gesellschaft und Politik vor und nach 2011

Von Amer Katbeh

mehr
bis

BITTER THINGS

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Kuratiert von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr

Skin

#95

Regie Afraa Batous Syrien, Libanon 2015

82 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Lisa Jöris und Afraa Batous

bis

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Kuratiert von Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel und Esra Özban

mehr
bis

FREUNDSCHAFT AUF ZEIT

Vertragsarbeit und Internationalismus in der DDR

Kuratiert von Tobias Hering und Sun-ju Choi

mehr

Regie Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed und Vishu Sejwal Indien 2019

43, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Shivramkrishna Patil und Susanne Gupta

Regie Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel Türkei 2019

57 min, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel

bis

Kuratiert von Popo Fan, Tobias Hering, Malve Lippmann, Branka Pavlovic, Can Sungu, Sarnt Utamachote und Florian Wüst

mehr
Filme

Skin

#95

Regie Afraa Batous Syrien, Libanon 2015

82 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Lisa Jöris und Afraa Batous

Skin

2010 arbeitete Afraa Batous mit einer Gruppe junger Leute in Aleppo zu dem Text Hamletmaschine (1977) des ostdeutschen Schriftstellers Heiner Müller. Müller malt sich in seinem Werk eine Befreiung aus der Unterwerfung aus, eine Revolution, die auch zu Zerstörung führt. Nur ein Jahr nach ihrer Arbeit mit dem Text wird die Revolution in Syrien Wirklichkeit. Die enormen Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen der Hamletmaschine und dem, was nach 2011 in Syrien geschah, veranlassten Afraa dazu, zu den Leuten zurückzukehren, mit denen sie zuvor an dem Text gearbeitet hatte, um herauszufinden, wie sie mit dem im Stück dargestellten Leben umgehen, das jetzt Realität geworden ist. Das Ergebnis ist Skin – ein intimes Porträt der unterschiedlichen Wege, die Batous Freunde nach 2011 eingeschlagen haben.

In Kooperation mit dem Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient.

Lisa Jöris ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und Arabistin. Derzeit arbeitet sie an einem Forschungsprojekt am Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient zu der Frage, wie urbane Infrastruktur in Aleppo vor 2011 Alltag und soziale Begegnungen beeinflusste. Der Bruch durch die Revolution ist in ihrer Forschung immer präsent.

Afraa Batous kommt aus Aleppo, Syrien. 2008 absolvierte sie ihr Studium in englischer Literatur und studiert zur Zeit im Master Filmregie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. Zuvor war sie fünf Jahre lang im Theaterbereich in Aleppo tätig.