Series

Director Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel Turkey 2019

57 min, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel

Director Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed and Vishu Sejwal India 2019

43, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Shivramkrishna Patil and Susanne Gupta

to

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Curated by Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel and Esra Özban

more

Skin

#95

Director Afraa Batous Syria, Lebanon 2015

82 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Lisa Jöris and Afraa Batous

to

BITTER THINGS

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

Curated by Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

Beyond the War

Syrian Society and Politics before and after 2011

By Amer Katbeh

more
to

Left Side Stories

Social Criticism in German-Turkish Migration Film

By Can Sungu

more
Left Side Stories

The topic of labour migration to Germany is present in various Turkish and German-Turkish films. It was not only an inspiration for many films in the Turkish Yeşilçam industry, but was also an important subject for the German directors with or without Turkish origin. The film series Left Side Stories: Social Criticism in the German-Turkish Migration Cinema deals with Turkish and German-Turkish films, which focus on the phenomenon of labour migration to Germany and the lives of the so-called “guest workers” from a societal-critical perspective. They deal with social justice, class consciousness, women’s emancipation and the living conditions of the children of the workers from Turkey. It is also discussed how, despite the negotiation of German-Turkish migration in the films, the political sphere of the 1970s in Turkey decisively influenced the films and their directors.

With kind support by Landesstelle für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des Landes Berlin (LEZ).

To the events

Films

Director Helma Sanders-Brahms FRG (West Germany) 1976

120 min., OV

SHIRIN’S WEDDING

Shirin's Wedding by Helma Sanders-Brahms shows the fate of a "stranger" in the "foreign lands" unvarnished. Shirin is a young Turkish woman waiting for the return of the man whom she loves and to whom she was promised: Mahmut. Despite the promise, she is married to her parents' squire. She flees to unknown Germany, to Cologne, the city where Mahmut works. Shirin herself also finds work and a place to stay. But when she loses the job and thus her residence permit, her situation changes dramatically. In her desperation, she meets Aida, a seemingly helpful stranger.

The film triggered heated discussions that even reached the Turkish parliament and prompted a protest rally by Turkish nationalists against the WDR.

Director Thomas Draeger FRG (West Germany) 1979

82 min., OV with English subs

METIN

Metin and Anne are the same age. Anne moves in to the front house and meets Metin, who lives in the rear building. They do not speak the same language, but curiosity quickly makes them familiar. Metin and Anne explore Berlin Kreuzberg together. They realize that the people around them are sceptical about their friendship. They have to assert themselves against prejudice and resentment.

The bilingual film Metin by Thomas Draeger equally addresses adults and children.

Director Şerif Gören Turkey 1979

90 min., OV with German subs

GERMANY, BITTER HOMELAND

Güldane is a young confident Turkish woman, who lives and works in Germany. She spends her summer holiday in Turkey, where she meets Mahmut. Mahmut wants to marry her just to have the opportunity to go to Germany. In exchange, he offers her money, which she accepts without showing any interest in him as a person. In Germany, her behaviour towards him changes when she is in need for protection from a man who is harassing her. Mahmut and Güdane start to become closer, but the hard life in Germany brings them more desperation than joy.

Almanya Acı Vatan (Germany, Bitter Home) by Şerif Gören, is considered a milestone in the German-Turkish migration cinema and is mostly shot in Berlin. Almanya Acı Vatan is the first exhaustive try in Turksih cinema to deal with the theme of migration to Germany. Leaving the traditional melodrama behind, it uses socialist realist elements to criticise society. The film shows the life of the so-called guest workers from a critical point of view.

Director Korhan Yurtsever Turkey 1976

76 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Korhan Yurtsever

KARA KAFA

We celebrate the German premiere of the film Kara Kafa (Black Head) from 1979 in presence of director Korhan Yurtsever.

Kara Kafa tells of the increasingly hopeless situation of the Turkish metalworker Cafer, who is bringing his family from the Turkish village to Germany. Cafer is convinced that Germany is the land of opportunity and will save the family from poverty. In his view, all migrants who work in Germany should be grateful and obedient to their work without complaining. He does not like the clubs, trade unions and meetings attended by many of his friends and also by his wife Hacer. Hacer is involved in the women's movement. She changes outwardly and mentally. Her eldest son is lonely and wanders aimlessly through the streets of the city while the daughter has to stay home to look after her newborn brother. As the song in the end of the film suggests, the fate of the working-class family lies in their own hands: "If we do not stand up, our misery will not end!"

Kara Kafa was immediately banned after its completion by the then censorship committee in Turkey, for the reason that the film violated "the honor of Germany, the befriended nation". The world premiere of the film took place therefore only in 2011 with 32 years delay at the film festival in Antalya. Kara Kafa stands out among other examples of the German-Turkish migration cinema for its left-wing view of migration and its open social criticism.

Korhan Yurtsever, born in Istanbul, has worked since a young age as a cutter in the his uncle's studio. His feature film Fıratın Cinleri from 1978 won several prizes, including the prize from the jury of San Remo festival. After a personal invitation from the major of Berlin he started shooting Kara Kafa in Berlin, in the Ruhr area and in Turkey. After his movie was banned, he stayed in Germany for a couple of years, before he returned to Turkey, where he continued working as a director, mostly for promotional films.

Director Yüksel Yavuz Germany 1995

52 min., OV with English subs

MY FATHER, THE GUEST WORKER

MEIN VATER, DER GASTARBEITER / MY FATHER, THE GUEST WORKER

The Kurdish director Yüksel Yavuz tells in an autobiographical documentary film about the life of his father, who worked from 1968 to 1984 as a so-called guest worker on a Hamburg shipyard. He knew only the way to work, to the fish market and to the cafe and he never really felt at home. Yavuz succeeds in a touching time document, in which he traces the personal life story of his father and connects it with a part of West-German history.


SIE DIENEN ALLAH UND DEN DEUTSCHEN / THEY SERVE ALLAH AND THE GERMANS

Before My Father, the Guest Worker the 16mm short film They serve Allah and the Germans by Michael Brückner and Peter Heller will be screened. The documentary depicts the role of religion for the Turkish Guest Workers in an iron foundry in Frankfurt.

Directors: Michael Brückner and Peter Heller, Germany, 1973, 25 min.

Reihen
bis

Left Side Stories

Gesellschaftskritik im Deutsch-Türkischen Migrationskino

Von Can Sungu

mehr
Left Side Stories

Die Arbeitsmigration nach Deutschland wurde im türkischen und deutsch-türkischen Film vielfach thematisiert und war nicht nur eine Inspiration für viele Filme in der türkischen Yeşilçam-Industrie, sondern darüber hinaus auch ein wichtiger Stoff für deutsche Regisseur*innen mit oder ohne biografischer Verbindung zur Türkei. Die Filmreihe Left Side Stories: Gesellschaftskritik im deutsch-türkischen Migrationskino setzt sich mit türkischen und deutsch-türkischen Filmen auseinander, in denen die Arbeitsmigration nach Deutschland und das Leben der sogenannten Gastarbeiter*innen aus einer gesellschaftskritischen Perspektive betrachtet wird. Die Filme beschäftigen sich mit sozialer Gerechtigkeit, Klassenbewusstsein, Frauenemanzipation und den Lebensbedingungen der Kinder der Arbeiter*innen aus der Türkei. Diskutiert wird auch, wie neben der Verhandlung deutsch-türkischer Migrationsthemen das politische Klima der Türkei der 1970er Jahre die Filme und ihre Regisseur*innen maßgeblich beeinflusste.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Landesstelle für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des Landes Berlin (LEZ).

Zu den Veranstaltungen

bis

Beyond the War

Syrische Gesellschaft und Politik vor und nach 2011

Von Amer Katbeh

mehr
bis

BITTER THINGS

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Kuratiert von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr

Skin

#95

Regie Afraa Batous Syrien, Libanon 2015

82 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Lisa Jöris und Afraa Batous

bis

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Kuratiert von Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel und Esra Özban

mehr
bis

FREUNDSCHAFT AUF ZEIT

Vertragsarbeit und Internationalismus in der DDR

Kuratiert von Tobias Hering und Sun-ju Choi

mehr

Regie Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed und Vishu Sejwal Indien 2019

43, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Shivramkrishna Patil und Susanne Gupta

Regie Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel Türkei 2019

57 min, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Aylin Kuryel und Fırat Yücel

bis

Kuratiert von Popo Fan, Tobias Hering, Malve Lippmann, Branka Pavlovic, Can Sungu, Sarnt Utamachote und Florian Wüst

mehr
Filme

Regie Helma Sanders-Brahms BRD 1976

120 min., OF

SHIRINS HOCHZEIT

Shirins Hochzeit von Helma Sanders-Brahms führt unbeschönigt das Schicksal einer „Fremden” in der „Fremde” vor Augen. Shirin ist eine junge Türkin, die im türkischen Dorf auf die Wiederkehr des Mannes wartet, in den sie verliebt ist und dem sie versprochen wurde: Mahmut. Dem Versprechen zum Trotz wird sie mit dem Gutsverwalter ihrer Eltern verheiratet. Sie flieht ins unbekannte Deutschland, nach Köln, in die Stadt, in der Mahmut arbeitet. Shirin selbst findet ebenfalls Arbeit und eine Bleibe. Doch als sie die Stelle und somit auch ihre Aufenthaltsgenehmigung verliert, ändert sich ihre Lage dramatisch. In ihrer Verzweiflung trifft sie auf Aida, einen augenscheinlich hilfsbereiten Fremden.

Der Film löste zu seinem Erscheinen scharfe Diskussionen aus, die selbst das türkische Parlament erreichten und war Anlass einer Protestkundgebung türkischer Nationalist*innen gegen den WDR.

Regie Thomas Draeger BRD 1979

82 min., OmeU

METIN

Metin und Anne sind gleichaltrig. Anne zieht ins Vorderhaus ein und lernt Metin kennen, der im Hinterhaus wohnt. Sie sprechen nicht die gleiche Sprache, doch die Neugierde lässt sie schnell vertraut werden. Gemeinsam erkunden Metin und Anne Berlin Kreuzberg. Dabei merken sie, dass die Menschen um sie herum sich mit ihrer Freundschaft schwer tun. Sie müssen sich gegen Vorurteile und Ressentiments behaupten.

Der zweisprachige Film Metin von Thomas Draeger richtet sich gleichermaßen an Erwachsene und Kinder.

Regie Şerif Gören Türkei 1979

90 min., OmdtU

DEUTSCHLAND, BITTERE HEIMAT

Güldane ist eine selbstsichere junge Türkin, die als Arbeiterin in Berlin lebt. Während ihres Sommerurlaubs in der Türkei begegnet sie Mahmut, einem Bekannten aus dem Dorf. Mahmut möchte mit ihr der Form halber und gegen Bezahlung heiraten, um so problemlos nach Deutschland zu kommen. Güldane akzeptiert Mahmuts Angebot, ohne sich für ihn als Mensch zu interessieren. Als sie jedoch in Deutschland von einem anderen Mann belästigt wird, wendet sie sich schutzsuchend an ihn. Mahmut und Güldane nähern sich einander an, aber das harte Leben in Deutschland bringt ihnen mehr Verzweiflung als Freude.

Almanya Acı Vatan (Deutschland, bittere Heimat) von Şerif Gören wird als einen Meilenstein im deutsch-türkischen Migrationskino betrachtet. Er wurde größtenteils in Berlin gedreht. Almanya Acı Vatan ist der erste Versuch im türkischen Film das Thema der Migration nach Deutschland über das reine Melodrama hinausgehend mit den Mitteln des Sozialrealismus zu behandeln. Der Film betrachtet das Leben der sogenannten Gastarbeiter*innen aus gesellschaftskritischer Perspektive.

Regie Korhan Yurtsever Türkei 1979

76 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Korhan Yurtsever

KARA KAFA

Der 1979 gedrehte Film Kara Kafa (Schwarzkopf) feiert in Anwesenheit des Regisseurs Korhan Yurtsever seine Deutschlandpremiere im bi'bak.

Kara Kafa erzählt von der immer auswegloseren Situation des türkischen Metallarbeiters Cafer, der seine Familie aus dem Dorf nach Deutschland nachholt. Cafer ist überzeugt, dass Deutschland das Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten ist und die Familie aus der Armut retten wird. Aus seiner Sicht sollte alle Migrant*innen, die in Deutschland Arbeit haben, dankbar sein und gehorsam ihrer Arbeit nachgehen, ohne sich zu beklagen. Er mag die Vereine, die Gewerkschaften und Versammlungen nicht, die von manchen seiner Freund*innen und auch von seiner Frau Hacer besucht werden. Hacer engagiert sich in der Frauenbewegung. Sie verändert sich äußerlich und geistig. Ihr ältester Sohn ist einsam und wandert ziellos durch die Straßen der Stadt, während die Tochter zu Hause bleiben und sich um ihren neugeborenen Bruder kümmern muss. Wie das Lied im Abspann suggeriert, liegt das Schicksal der Arbeiter*innenfamilie in ihren eigenen Händen: „Wenn wir nicht aufstehen, endet unser Elend nicht!”

Kara Kafa wurde nach seiner Fertigstellung von dem damaligen Zensurkomitee in der Türkei sofort verboten, mit der Begründung, der Film verletze „die Ehre Deutschlands, der befreundeten Nation“. Die Weltpremiere des Films fand daher erst 2011 mit 32 Jahren Verspätung auf den Filmfestspielen in Antalya statt. Kara Kafa hebt sich vor allem mit seinem linkspolitischen Blick auf Migration und seiner offenen Gesellschaftskritik von anderen Beispielen des deutsch-türkischen Migrationskinos ab.

Korhan Yurtsever wurde in Istanbul geboren und arbeitete schon im jungen Jahren im Schnittstudio seines Onkels. Sein erster Film Fıratın Cinleri aus dem Jahr 1978 gewann mehrere Preise, u.a. den Jurypreis des San Remo Film Festivals. Nach einer persönlichen Einladung des damaligen Berliner Bürgermeisters drehte er Kara Kafa in Berlin, im Ruhrgebiet und in der Türkei. Nach dem Verbot seines Films lebte er für einige Jahre in Deutschland und kehrte später in die Türkei zurück, wo er weiter als Regisseur für Werbefilme tätig war.

Regie Yüksel Yavuz Deutschland 1995

52 min., OmeU

MEIN VATER, DER GASTARBEITER

MEIN VATER, DER GASTARBEITER

Der kurdische Regisseur Yüksel Yavuz erzählt in einem autobiographischen Dokumentarfilm vom Leben seines Vaters, der von 1968 bis 1984 als sogenannter Gastarbeiter auf einer Hamburger Werft arbeitete. Nie wirklich heimisch geworden, kannte er nur die Wege zur Arbeit, zum Fischmarkt und ins Kaffeehaus. Yavuz gelingt ein berührendes Zeitdokument, in dem er die persönliche Lebensgeschichte seines Vaters nachzeichnet und mit einem Stück Gesellschaftsgeschichte der BRD verbindet.


SIE DIENEN ALLAH UND DEN DEUTSCHEN

Als Vorfilm zeigen wir den 16mm-Kurzfilm Sie dienen Allah und den Deutschen, von Michael Brückner und Peter Heller. Der Dokumentarfilm thematisiert die Rolle der Religion für die türkischen Arbeiter*innen in einer Frankfurter Eisengießerei.

Regie: Michael Brückner und Peter Heller, Deutschland, 1973, 25 min.