Series

Director Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel Turkey 2019

57 min, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Aylin Kuryel and Fırat Yücel

Director Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed and Vishu Sejwal India 2019

43, OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Shivramkrishna Patil and Susanne Gupta

to

KuirFest Berlin 2019

Queer Feminist Rebels

Curated by Pembe Hayat KuirFest / Pink Life QueerFest, Esma Akyel and Esra Özban

more

Skin

#95

Director Afraa Batous Syria, Lebanon 2015

82 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Lisa Jöris and Afraa Batous

to

BITTER THINGS

Narratives and Memories of Transnational Families

Curated by Malve Lippmann and Can Sungu

more
to

By Esra Özban

more
KUIRFEST Berlin 2018

Pembe Hayat KuirFest (Pink Life QueerFest), the first and only queer film festival in Turkey, is visiting Berlin in collaboration with bi’bak. KuirFest Berlin 2018 presents you a film and discussion series that engages with migration and mobility issues from non-Western queer perspectives. It gathers shorts, documentaries, fictions and series that explore different ways of commenting on hegemonic border politics and their encounters with body, sexuality and gender. The selection aims not only to tell a wide range of stories on queer migrants, border-crossings and liminalities of bodies, but also invites the audience to think collectively about how to queer narratives of migration and body politics.

In cooperation with Pink Life QueerFest, Aks International Minorities Festival and Zentrum Moderner Orient, commissioned by QM Soldiner Strasse, funded by German Republic and the Federal State of Berlin in the framework of Zukunftsinitiative Stadtteil II, Programm Soziale Stadt.

Esra Özban after graduating from Economics at Bogazici University, continued graduate studies at Goldsmiths, University of London in Film and Screen Studies MA programme. Esra Özban is the festival director and has worked as a programmer & coordinator at Pembe Hayat KuirFest since 2014. Esra also taught film-related courses at Bilkent and TED Universities and is a member of Atina Collective.

To the events

to

Beyond the War

Syrian Society and Politics before and after 2011

By Amer Katbeh

more
Films

Director Ayşe Toprak Turkey, Malta, Germany, France 2017

85 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Mahmoud Hassino

MR. GAY SYRIA

Mr. Gay Syria follows two gay Syrian refugees who are trying to rebuild their lives. Husein is a barber in Istanbul, living a double life between his conservative family and his gay identity. Mahmoud is the founder of Syria’s LGBTI+ movement and is a refugee in Berlin. What brings them together is a dream: to participate in an international beauty contest as an escape from their trapped lives and an answer to their invisibility. Will the dream come true or will the refugee crisis and the harsh consequences of being gay in the Muslim world shatter it to pieces?

The director Ayşe Toprak respectfully follows her main characters and besides pictures the realities of hegemonic border regimes.

Mahmoud Hassino is a Syrian journalist and LGBT rights activist. Hassino founded the first Syrian LGBT magazine Mawaleh and organized the first Mr. Gay Syria competition in Istanbul. At the moment he lives in Germany and works at Berlin Center For LGBTI Refugees – Schwulenberatung Berlin.

Director Pouria Heidary Oureh Armenia 2016

78 min., OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Pouria Heidary Oureh and Nazan Maksudyan

APRICOT GROVES

Aram, a young Iranian Armenian man who immigrated to the US in his childhood, returns to Armenia for the first time to propose to his Armenian girlfriend whom Aram met and lived with in the US. Aram sees many cultural, religious, and national differences on the one day trip, but harder obstacles are ahead.

Apricot Groves is a road movie back to home, where home is everywhere you have the beloved ones. A journey for the audience towards rituals, traditions, love and identity.

Pouria Heidary Oureh was born in 1984 in Tehran, Iran. From young age he was interested in visual and performance arts and storytelling, especially through drawings. He graduated from SAE institute of Digital Film in Dubai.

Nazan Maksudyan is a research associate at the Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient. Her research mainly focuses on the history of children and youth in the Ottoman Empire during the 19th and 20th century, with special interest in gender, sexuality, education, humanitarianism, and non-Muslims.

PA 58

GAZINO NEUKÖLLN IN CONCERT

Gazino Neukölln is a Berlin based band consisting of women, trans and non-binary members from Turkey. Their cover versions of selected Turkish pop and arabesque songs are spiced up with lubunya* energy. Each performance of the band is a hommage to Turkish gazino culture. Gazinos were nightclubs that were famous in the 1970s and 80s in Turkey, where the artists had a close and direct contact with the audience. Gazino Neukölln firstly started to play in private rooms and parks, later conquering various stages of the city. For KuirFest Berlin 2018 they are visiting bi‘bak for an open air concert.

*Lubunya, a slang term used in Turkey that includes a spectrum of queer sexualities.

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Nazlı

LUBUNYA – QUEER SHORTS FROM TURKEY

Films:

Transvestites / Travestiler (Aykut Atasay, 2007)
Overtime / Fazla Mesai (Gürcan Keltek, 2012)
Moira (Nilgün Küçükbatman, 2016)
Rebirth / Yeniden Doğuş (Zehra Gökçimen & Gökçe Oraloğlu, 2017)
Solo (Sertaç Koyuncu, 2017)
Muttering / Homur Homur (Simay Çalışkan & Nergis Karadağ, 2017)

Everything you want to know about ‘Transvestites‘ is in this mockumentary. In Overtime, we hear sounds of workers, both day and night, on the streets, in factories and studios of Istanbul. Moira is a daily ballad for Boysan, Zeliş and Mert. Rebirth is a dance ritual which turns into recreation of the self. A DYI rebellion against ‘the looks’ is traced in Solo. And there is no place for haters in Muttering.

Pink Life QueerFest curated the Lubunya* – Queer Shorts from Turkey event with short documentary and fiction LGBTI+ films from Turkey from the early 2000s to today. The selection intends to open up a debate on the past, present and future of queer cinema and the LGBTI+ movement in Turkey.

*Lubunya, a slang term used in Turkey that includes a spectrum of queer sexualities.

Nazlı is a lesbian feminist activist and a Phd student in anthropology, interested in queer migration and digital media. She lives in Berlin since January 2017.

Director Shu Lea Cheang Spain 2017

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Shu Lea Cheang

WONDERS WANDER

Barrio Malasaña, known by Madrid residents as Maravillas (wonders), was once the countercultural hub of La Movida Madrileña and now a hip and trendy place with tourists. Departing from this rebellious past, Wonders Wander, a four episode mobi-web-serial, takes the wonders out of Malasaña to explore off-the-mainstream nouveau queer generation that includes refugees, migrants, functional diversity, transfeminista, transfeminism, open family, subversive motherhoods, sustainable living, and the rise of auto-defense practices for self-empowerment. Wonders Wander  tracks with its GPS guided city-walks sites of documented homo-trans-phobic attacks that extend to peripheral Madrid. Along the way, Wonders Wander’s four episodes, filmed respectively at Lavapies in Centro, Vaciador in Carabanchel, La Dragona in Ciudad Lineal and 12 towers in Vallecas, are embedded for viewing and download on site. With a magic realism twist and fantasia narratives, the four movie episodes, titled “With witches, we move”, “As the wheels meet”, “You are mine, only mine”, “Understand?” recount tales of queer resistance with relentless defiance, seductive sensuality and vigorous passion.

Shu Lea Cheang is a multimedia artist working in the field of net-based installation, social interface and film production.

OV with English subs

Followed by a talk with Saadat Munir

AKS FEATURING KUIRFEST

Co-curated by Esra Özban and Saadat Munir
Following the screening there will be a discussion with the two curators on the film selection, Aks International Minorities Festival and Pembe Hayat KuirFest in relation to the general theme of migration & mobility and its queer interpretations.

Films:

Half a Life (Tamara Shogaolu, NL/US/EG, 2017)
Mondial 2010 (Roy Dib, LB, 2017)
Crystal Lake (Jennifer Reeder, US, 2016)
Brother, Omar Mateen (Saad Khan, US, 2016)
The Streets Are Ours (Michelle Fiordaliso, US, 2017)

Half a Life is an intimate journey into the life of a young gay activist in Egypt. Borrowing the aesthetics of a travel video log, Mondial 2010 is a discussion of institutional borders in modern day Middle East. An anthem for young feminists, Crystal Lake presents female friendship as a means to survive adolescence. Brother, Omar Mateen tells the story of a Muslim queer Pakistani who immigrated to the US and empathizes with Omar Mateen. The Streets are Ours is a farewell, a tribute for Sabeen Mahmud and its legacy containing the penultimate interview with her.

Aks International Minorities Festival, launched in April 2014, is a global human rights initiative designed to facilitate an already existing socio-political and cultural dialogue. The organization aims to promote the visibility of minorities and marginalized groups and communities. The Aks Festival screens films which are accompanied by discussions and debates, while organising educational workshops and performing arts events that promote awareness and dialogue about issues impacting minorities groups.

Saadat Munir has been awarded several honours as a filmmaker, and has recently been an official Talent at Berlinale 2015. Apart from film production, he is an experienced film curator/programmer, critic and has also served as jury member at various national and international film festivals. Presently, Munir is a creative director of Aks Film, Art and Dialogue, a bi-national film festival for minorities and marginalized communities that illuminate socio-political aspects of transgender, queer, people of color (POC) living in Pakistan and Denmark.

Reihen

Regie Furqan Faridi, Ashfaque EJ, Shaheen Ahmed und Vishu Sejwal Indien 2019

43, OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Shivramkrishna Patil und Susanne Gupta

Skin

#95

Regie Afraa Batous Syrien, Libanon 2015

82 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Lisa Jöris und Afraa Batous

bis

BITTER THINGS

Narrative und Erinnerungen transnationaler Familien

Kuratiert von Malve Lippmann und Can Sungu

mehr
bis

Von Esra Özban

mehr
KUIRFEST Berlin 2018

Pembe Hayat KuirFest (Pink Life QueerFest), das erste und einzige queere Film-Festival in der Türkei, kommt nach Berlin. In Kooperation mit bi’bak präsentiert KuirFest Berlin 2018 in einer Film-und Diskussionsreihe nicht-westliche, queere Perspektiven auf Mobilität und Migration. Eine Auswahl aus Kurzfilmen, Dokumentationen, Spielfilmen und Serien untersucht hegemoniale Grenzpolitiken und ihren Umgang mit Körper, Sexualität und Geschlecht. Das Programm zeigt eine Bandbreite an Geschichten über queere Migrant*innen, Grenzüberschreitungen und Liminalitäten von Körpern und lädt das Publikum dazu ein, gemeinsam über queere Narrative im Kontext von Migration und Körper-Politiken nachzudenken.

In Kooperation mit Pink Life QueerFest, Aks International Minorities Festival und Zentrum Moderner Orient im Auftrag des QM Soldiner Strasse gefördert durch die Bundesrepublik Deutschland und das Land Berlin im Rahmen der Zukunftsinitiative Stadtteil II, Programm Soziale Stadt.

Esra Özban studierte Wirtschaft an der Bogazici University in Istanbul, und Film and Screen Studies am Goldsmiths College, University of London. Esra Özban leitet das Festival Pembe Hayat KuirFest und arbeitet dort im Bereich Programm und Koordination seit 2014. Esra unterrichtet im Bereich Film an der Bilkent Universität und TED Universität und ist Mitglied des Atina Collectives.

Zu den Veranstaltungen

bis

Beyond the War

Syrische Gesellschaft und Politik vor und nach 2011

Von Amer Katbeh

mehr
Filme

Regie Ayşe Toprak Türkei, Malta, Deutschland, Frankreich 2017

85 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Mahmoud Hassino

MR. GAY SYRIA

Mr. Gay Syria protraitiert zwei schwule syrische Geflüchtete, die versuchen, ihr Leben neu aufzubauen. Husein arbeitet als Friseur in Istanbul und führt ein Doppelleben zwischen seiner konservativen Familie und seiner Homosexualität. Mahmoud ist der Gründer von Syriens LGBTI+ Bewegung und lebt heute in Berlin. Was die beiden Männer vereint, ist ein Traum: Sie wollen an einem internationalen Schönheits-Wettbewerb teilnehmen, um ihrem unfreien Leben und ihrer Unsichtbarkeit zu entfliehen. Wird der Traum sich erfüllen?

Die Regisseurin Ayşe Toprak schildert respektvoll den Weg ihrer Protagonisten und zeigt dabei auch die Realitäten hegemonialer Grenzregime auf.

Mahmoud Hassino ist ein syrischer Journalist und Aktivist für LGBT-Rechte. Hassino gründete das erste syrische LGBT-Magazin Mawaleh und organisierte den ersten Mr. Gay Syrien-Wettbewerb in Istanbul. Zur Zeit lebt er in Deutschland und arbeitet im Berliner Zentrum für LGBTI-Flüchtlinge – Schwulenberatung Berlin.

Regie Pouria Heidary Oureh Armenien 2016

78 min., OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Pouria Heidary Oureh und Nazan Maksudyan

APRICOT GROVES

Aram, ein iranisch-armenischer junger Mann, der seit seiner Kindheit in den USA lebt, kehrt zurück nach Armenien. Er möchte seiner armenischen Freundin, die er aus Amerika kennt, einen Antrag zu machen. Bei dem eintägigen Aufenthalt beobachtet Aram viele kulturelle, religiöse und nationale Unterschiede, aber es sind noch schwerere Hürden zu überwinden.

Apricot Groves ist ein Roadmovie zurück nach Hause, wobei zu Hause überall dort ist, wo die Personen sind, die uns nahestehen. Zugleich reflektiert er Rituale, Traditionen, Liebe und Identität.

Pouria Heidary Oureh wurde 1984 in Teheran im Iran geboren. Schon in jungen Jahren interessierte er sich für bildende und darstellende Kunst und Geschichtenerzählen, insbesondere durch Zeichnungen. Er absolvierte das SAE-Institut für digitalen Film in Dubai.

Nazan Maksudyan ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf die Geschichte von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Osmanischen Reich im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert, mit besonderem Interesse für Gender, Sexualität, Bildung, Humanität und Nicht-Muslime*n.

PA 58

GAZINO NEUKÖLLN KONZERT

Gazino Neukölln ist eine Berliner Band bestehend aus Frauen, Trans- und nicht binären Mitglieder*innen aus der Türkei. Ihre Coverversionen ausgewählter türkischer Pop- und Arabesk-Songs sind gewürzt mit Lubunya*-Energie. Jede Aufführung der Band ist eine Hommage an die türkische Gazino-Kultur. Gazinos waren in den 1970er und 80er Jahren in der Türkei beliebte Nachtclubs, in denen die Künstler*innen einen engen und direkten Kontakt mit dem Publikum hatten. Gazino Neukölln begann zunächst, in privaten Räumen und Parks zu spielen, bevor sie die Bühnen der Stadt zu eroberten. Im Rahmen des KuirFest Berlin 2018 geben sie bei bi’bak ein Freiluft-Konzert.

*Lubunya wird als Slang-Begriff in der Türkei benutzt und umfasst ein Spektrum queerer Sexualitäten.

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Nazlı

LUBUNYA – QUEER SHORTS FROM TURKEY

Filme:

Transvestites / Travestiler (Aykut Atasay, 2007)
Overtime / Fazla Mesai (Gürcan Keltek, 2012)
Moira (Nilgün Küçükbatman, 2016)
Rebirth / Yeniden Doğuş (Zehra Gökçimen & Gökçe Oraloğlu, 2017)
Solo (Sertaç Koyuncu, 2017)
Muttering / Homur Homur (Simay Çalışkan & Nergis Karadağ, 2017)

Transvestites, Aykut Atasay, 2007: Eine Mockumentary über alles, was man über „Transvestiten” wissen möchte. Overtime, Gürcan Keltek, 2012: Istanbul. Die Geräusche der Arbeiter*innen sind Tag und Nacht in den Straßen, Fabriken und Studios zu hören. Moira, Nilgün Küçükbatman, 2016: Die Fotos von LGBTI+ Aktivist*innen, die in einem Verkehrsunfall ums Leben kamen, werden Menschen vorgelegt, die sie nie kannten, mit der Frage: „Was macht die Person auf dem Foto heute?” Rebirth, Zehra Gökçimen&Gökçe Oraloğlu, 2017: Ein Tanz-Ritual, das zur Neudefinition des Selbst wird. Solo, Sertaç Koyuncu, 2017: Ezgi zieht auf der Straße Blicke auf sich, doch die reagiert auf das Starren mit einem Lied: „I’ll tell you something What r u looking at Bro?” Muttering, Simay Çalışkan& Nergis Karadağ, 2017: Man sagt, es gäbe nie Platz oder Zeit, seine Liebe den Geliebten zu zeigen. Aber was ist, wenn Liebe sich im selben Geschlecht zeigt, mitten auf der Straße?

Die von Pink Life QueerFest kuratierten Lubunya* – Queer Shorts from Turkey zeigen Kurzdokumentationen und fiktionale LGBTI+ Kurzfilme aus der Türkei von den frühen 2000er Jahren bis heute. Die Auswahl soll eine Debatte über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft des queeren Kinos und der LGBTI+ Bewegung in der Türkei initiieren.

*Lubunya, ein umgangssprachlicher Begriff, der in der Türkei verwendet wird und ein Spektrum queerer Sexualitäten umfasst.

Nazlı ist eine lesbische feministische Aktivistin und Doktorandin in Anthropologie, die sich für queere Migration und digitale Medien interessiert. Sie lebt seit Januar 2017 in Berlin.

 

Regie Shu Lea Cheang Spanien 2017

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Shu Lea Cheang

WONDERS WANDER

Das Viertel Barrio Malasaña, in Madrid bekannt als „Maravilas” (Wunder), war einst subkulturelles Viertel, bevor es hip und touristisch wurde. Ausgehend von der rebellischen Vergangenheit der Nachbarschaft erkunden die vier Folgen der Web-Serie Wonders Wander eine neue, queere Generation fern vom Mainstream. Diese wird bestimmt durch Geflüchtete, Migrant*innen, funktionale Diversität, Transfeminismus, offene Familienstrukturen, subversive Mutterschaft, nachhaltiges Leben und Praktiken der Selbstverteidigung und -ermächtigung.

Mit einem phantastischen Realismus-Twist erzählen die vier Episoden Geschichten mit unerbittlichem Trotz, verführerischer Sinnlichkeit und kräftiger Leidenschaft von queerem Widerstand.

Shu Lea Cheang ist eine Multimedia-Künstlerin, die im Bereich der netzbasierten Installationen, sozialen „Interfaces" und Filmproduktion arbeitet.

OmeU

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Saadat Munir

AKS FEATURING KUIRFEST

Co-kuratiert von Esra Özban (Pembe Hayat KuirFest ) und Saadat Munir (Aks International Minorities Festival)
Im Anschluss Diskussion mir den beiden Kurator*innen über die Filmauswahl, die Festivalarbeit von Aks International Minorities Festival und Pembe Hayat KuirFest in Bezug auf das Thema Migration und Mobilität und seine queeren Interpretationen
.

Filme:

Half a Life (Tamara Shogaolu, NL/US/EG, 2017)
Mondial 2010 (Roy Dib, LB, 2017)
Crystal Lake (Jennifer Reeder, US, 2016)
Brother, Omar Mateen (Saad Khan, US, 2016)
The Streets Are Ours (Michelle Fiordaliso, US, 2017)

Half a Life ist eine intime Reise in das Leben eines jungen schwulen Aktivisten in Ägypten. In Anlehnung an die Ästhetik eines Reisevideo-Logbuchs diskutiert Mondial 2010 institutionelle Grenzen im modernen Nahen Osten. Als Hymne für junge Feministinnen präsentiert Crystal Lake die Freundschaft zwischen Frauen als Mittel, um die Jugend zu überleben. Bruder Omar Mateen erzählt die Geschichte eines muslimischen schwulen pakistanischen Einwanderers in die USA, der sich mit Omar Mateen identifiziert. The Streets are Ours ist ein Abschied, eine Hommage an Sabeen Mahmud und ihr Vermächtnis anhand ihres vorletzten Interviews.

Aks International Minorities Festival, das im April 2014 ins Leben gerufen wurde, ist eine globale Menschenrechtsinitiative zur Förderung des gesellschaftspolitischen und kulturellen Dialogs. Die Organisation zielt darauf ab, die Sichtbarkeit von Minderheiten und marginalisierten Gruppen und Gemeinschaften zu fördern. Das AKS-Festival zeigt Filme begleitet von Diskussionen, organisiert Workshops und Performing Arts-Veranstaltungen, die das Bewusstsein und den Dialog über Themen fördern, die Minderheitengruppen betreffen.

Saadat Munir wurde als Filmemacher für seine Arbeit mehrfach ausgezeichnet und war zuletzt zu Gast beim Talente Campus der Berlinale 2015. Darüber hinaus arbeitet er als Filmkurator, Kritiker und Jurist u.a. bei der Berlinale, sowie bei verschiedenen internationalen Filmfestivals. Gegenwärtig ist Munir Kreativdirektor von Aks Film, Art and Dialogue, einem bi-nationalen Filmfestival für Minderheiten und marginalisierte Gruppen, das soziopolitische Aspekte von Transsexuellen, Schwulen und People Of Colour (POC) in Pakistan und Dänemark beleuchtet.