Series

Book Launch Event

Followed by a talk with Ibrahim Arslan, Jasper Kettner and Heike Kleffner

Followed by a talk with Ibrahim Arslan, Jasper Kettner and Heike Kleffner

Graphic Short Stories

Followed by a talk with Ersin Karabulut and Michael Jordan

Followed by a talk with Ersin Karabulut and Michael Jordan

Followed by a talk with Aisha Franz

Followed by a talk with Aisha Franz

A Mobile Job Market for the Neighbourhood

Followed by a talk with Çağın Kaya and Uygar Demoğlu

Followed by a talk with Çağın Kaya and Uygar Demoğlu

Animations from the Mobile Language Lab

Followed by a talk with Julia Kapelle

Followed by a talk with Julia Kapelle

A JOURNEY TO MERIÇ

Followed by a talk with Caspar Pauli, Birgit Auf der Lauer and KABA HAT

Followed by a talk with Caspar Pauli, Birgit Auf der Lauer and KABA HAT

bak.ma

Followed by a talk with artıkişler

Followed by a talk with artıkişler

EMBODIED INTERFACE

Followed by a talk with Catriona Shaw and Malve Lippmann

Followed by a talk with Catriona Shaw and Malve Lippmann

Films

bak.ma

Followed by a talk with artıkişler

Followed by a talk with artıkişler

ARTIKİŞLER

bi'bak invites the Turkish video collective artıkişler with its current project bak.ma. bak.ma is a digital media archive for the political resistance in Turkey. Based on the Gezi Park protests in 2013, bak.ma aims to shed light on Turkey's recent history through a collection of audiovisual recordings, documentaries and testimonies from contemporary witnesses.

"bakma" means "do not look" in Turkish. The idea for bak.ma derives from a quote by the sociologist Ulus Baker from 1996:

"'Normal citizens, get lost!' is a police announcement recorded in the center of Ankara. Here, the 'not normal' citizens are clearly the ones surrounded by the police troops and tanks. The desire of the state is probably for them to 'disappear' or 'blow away' as fast as possible [...]. For the first time, a call from the police to 'normal' citizens suggests that they 'disappear' or 'dissolve' in the liveliest streets of the city. Another police call - 'Do not look!' - has a similar sound as the command 'Disappear!'. 'Do not look!' - this command points to the special ability of men to distinguish between 'looking' and 'seeing'. After all, all humans have the ability to see with countless eyes (like the bees), even if they are not looking... no one can stop that."

artıkişler (English title: leftoverworks) is a video collective that tries to create collective production and distribution spaces in the fields of contemporary visual culture and arts. They follow the principles of collective working, exhibition and screening strategies in collaboration with other groups that have similar orientations on the breaking point issues of Turkey’s near social history such as: urban transformation, gentrification, forced migration, refugees, labor in urban space, archiving and collective social memory.

Reihen

EMBODIED INTERFACE

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Catriona Shaw und Malve Lippmann

Trickfilme aus dem Mobilen Sprachlabor

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Julia Kapelle

Ein mobiler Job-Basar für die Nachbarschaft

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Çağın Kaya und Uygar Demoğlu

Buchpräsentation

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Ibrahim Arslan, Jasper Kettner und Heike Kleffner

Filme

bak.ma

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit artıkişler

ARTIKİŞLER

bi’bak lädt das türkische Videokollektiv artıkişler mit seinem aktuellen Projekt bak.ma ein. bak.ma ist ein digitales Medienarchiv für den politischen Widerstand in der Türkei. Ausgehend von den Gezi-Park Protesten 2013 strebt bak.ma an, die jüngste Geschichte der Türkei anhand einer Sammlung von audiovisuellen Aufnahmen, Dokumentationen sowie Aussagen von Zeitzeug*innen zu beleuchten.

"bakma" heißt auf türkisch “schau nicht”. Die Idee zu bak.ma leitet sich von einem Zitat des Soziologen Ulus Baker von 1996 her:

“’Normale Bürger, verschwindet!’, lautet eine Aufforderung der Polizei, die im Zentrum von Ankara aufgezeichnet wurde. Die 'nicht normalen' Bürger*innen, das sind hier offenbar die von den Polizeitruppen und Panzern umzingelten. Der Wunsch des Staates ist wohl, sie möglichst schnell  'verschwinden' oder 'wegpusten' zu lassen [...]. Zum ersten Mal vermittelt eine Aufforderung der Polizei, gerichtet an 'normale' Bürger*innen, dass sie in den belebtesten Straßen einer Stadt 'verschwinden' oder 'sich in Luft auflösen' sollen. Eine andere Polizeiaufforderung - 'Schau nicht!' - hat dabei einen ähnlichen Klang wie der  Befehl 'Verschwinde!'. 'Schau nicht!' - dieser Befehl weist auf die besondere Fähigkeit des Menschen hin, zwischen 'schauen' und 'sehen' zu unterscheiden. Im Grunde haben alle Menschen die Fähigkeit, mit unzähligen Augen (wie die Bienen) zu sehen, auch wenn sie nicht hinschauen… das kann niemand verhindern."

artıkişler (Englischer Name: leftoverworks) ist ein Videokollektiv, das zum Ziel hat, Räume zur kollektiven Produktion zeitgenössischer Kunst und visueller Kultur zu schaffen und deren Distribution voranzubringen. artıkişler verfolgt kollektive Arbeits-, Ausstellungs- und Aufführung-Strategien u.a. in Zusammenarbeit mit Partner-Initiativen, die sich in ihrer Arbeit auch mit den Themen der jüngeren türkischen Geschichte beschäftigen. Kernthemen sind: Umwandlungen im Stadtraum, Gentrifizierung, Migration, Flucht, Formen der Archivierung von kollektivem Gedächtnis.